Harpist's debut music to Transworld's ears

Transworld has pre-empted an “uplifting, heart-warming and accessible” reading group novel by debut author and musician Hazel Prior, born out of a passion for harps. Touching on love, friendship, kindness and generosity, according to Transworld Ellie and the Harp-maker will appeal to readers of The Keeper of Lost Things, Three Things about Elsie and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. It will be published by Bantam Press in hardback in March 2019. Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2018-09-10 00:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #lost things #debut author #eleanor oliphant #completely fine #bantam press

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Harpist's debut music to Transworld's ears'


Serpent's Tail signs two-book deal with debut author Alice Ash

Serpent’s Tail has acquired an "irresistibly surreal" debut short story collection by Alice Ash. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-26 21:39:09 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut author


Avon bags 'glorious' Doyle debut in two-book deal

Avon Books has bagged the "glorious" debut from Liverpool actress and writer Hayley Doyle in a two-book deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-26 02:53:15 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #avon books


The Sound of Music in the Retail 4th Quarter (shelftalker)

A bookseller’s version of ‘The Sound of Music’ for the busy, exhausting 4th quarter. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2019-11-25 13:00:38 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Liz Jones comic debut on eating disorders goes to Matthew James

Former Marie Claire editor-in-chief and Mail on Sunday columnist Liz Jones will release her eating disorder-inspired debut comic novel next year, released by Matthew James Publishing. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-25 06:52:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


Hyder's debut goes to Norton in US in three-way auction

Pushkin Press has sold YA debut Bearmouth by Liz Hyder to Norton in the US following a three-way bidding war. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-21 19:34:40 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #bidding war #pushkin press


IDW Debuts Spanish Graphic Novel Line with Takei's 'They Called Us Enemy'

IDW kicks off its Spanish-language graphic novel publishing initiative with George Takei's bestsellilng graphic memoir 'They Called Us Enemy,' to be released in a Spanish edition in June 2020. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2019-11-21 05:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #graphic novel #graphic memoir #publishing initiative #george takei


S&S UK snaps up four picture books from debut writer Lu Fraser

Simon & Schuster Children’s UK has signed a deal for four picture book texts from debut writer Lu Fraser. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-20 06:15:25 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #schuster #picture book #picture books


Ian Williams wins Canada’s prestigious Giller Prize for his debut novel.

Ian Williams, winner of this year’s $100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize for his debut novel Reproduction, began his acceptance speech Monday night with an emotional tribute. “Margaret Atwood over there is the first book I bought with my own money at a bookstore in Brampton,” he told the audience.... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2019-11-19 20:30:03 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #bookstore #margaret atwood #ian williams


True crime podcaster-detective debut goes to Pushkin

Pushkin Press has bought a debut about a detective and true crime podcaster by Melbourne-based author A Suiter Clarke, with the book also selling in various deals throughout the globe. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-19 15:11:19 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #pushkin press


Jessie Cave's debut novel goes to Welbeck

Welbeck Publishing Group has snapped up actor, comedian and memoirist Jessie Cave's debut novel.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-19 09:56:37 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #publishing group


Ian Williams wins the 2019 Scotiabank Giller prize for debut novel

Ian Williams has won the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize, Canada's richest literary award for fiction, for his novel Reproduction.  Continue reading at CBC

[ CBC | 2019-11-19 03:04:37 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #literary award


Pushkin lands Elena Medal's 'exceptional debut'

Pushkin Press will publish a debut novel by "the next great literary voice in Spain", Elena Medel. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-18 09:03:50 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #pushkin press #exceptional debut


Pippi Longstocking musical in works to celebrate 75th anniversary

A "musical circus show" based on Pippi Longstocking is in the works, with ABBA's Björn Ulvaeus on board as executive producer, as part of celebrations to mark the 75th anniversary of the children's classic. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-18 06:48:24 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #75th anniversary #executive producer #pippi longstocking


Avon signs debut author Hannah Sunderland in two-book deal

HarperCollins has snapped up two women’s fiction books by debut author Hannah Sunderland. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-18 02:55:49 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut author #harpercollins #fiction books


Viper snares historical thriller debut by Leonora Nattrass

Serpent’s Tail’s newly launched crime imprint Viper have signed a historical "whodunnit" as part of a two-book deal with debut author Leonora Nattrass. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-15 02:01:24 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut author


Arrow snaps up Paula Greenlees Singapore-based debut in two-book deal

Arrow will publish a "breathtaking" debut novel by Paula Greenlees, inspired by the three years she lived in Singapore. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-13 19:37:40 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #arrow snaps


Faber takes on debut from 'fantastic new talent' Una Mannion

Faber has acquired Irish-based author Una Mannion's "utterly captivating" debut novel. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-12 10:30:21 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


Canongate pre-empts Salena Godden's 'visionary' debut novel

Canongate will publish poet and performer Salena Godden’s debut novel, described by the publisher as an "electrifying genre- and form-defying firestarter". Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-12 03:34:36 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


HarperCollins scoops Harvill Secker editor Adams debut in two-book deal

HarperCollins has won a multi-publisher auction for The Reading List by debut author and Harvill Secker commissioning editor Sara Nisha Adams in a two-book deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-10 16:51:18 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #harpercollins #debut author


Myriad bags graphic novels from Williams and Slattery as it launches debut author contest

Myriad Editions has bagged a pair of "graphic medicine" books from Ian Williams and Zara Slattery, as the publisher launches its 2020 Myriad First Graphic Novel Competition. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-07 01:44:47 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut author #graphic novel #myriad editions #ian williams