Harpist's debut music to Transworld's ears

Transworld has pre-empted an “uplifting, heart-warming and accessible” reading group novel by debut author and musician Hazel Prior, born out of a passion for harps. Touching on love, friendship, kindness and generosity, according to Transworld Ellie and the Harp-maker will appeal to readers of The Keeper of Lost Things, Three Things about Elsie and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. It will be published by Bantam Press in hardback in March 2019. Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2018-09-10 00:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #lost things #debut author #eleanor oliphant #completely fine #bantam press

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Harpist's debut music to Transworld's ears'


Pushkin scoops 'gripping' Finnish debut

Pushkin Press is to publish Land of Snow and Ashes by Finnish debut novelist Petra Rautiainen as a lead title in 2022.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-09-04 13:52:05 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #lead title #pushkin press #pushkin scoops


Wildfire wins auction for 'staggering' McKenzie debut

Wildfire has won a three-publisher auction for a “staggering” coming-of-age story from 22-year-old debut novelist Moses McKenzie in a two-book deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-09-03 10:01:53 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #three-publisher auction


JMP to publish Sally J Morgan's 'timely and pertinent' debut

John Murray Press will publish Sally J Morgan's debut Toto Among the Murderers on its J M Originals list this October. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-09-02 18:06:05 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #originals list


HQ scoops Sheffield-set debut novel from journalist Rawlins

HQ has scooped The Steel Girls, a debut novel from journalist and university lecturer Michelle Rawlins, in a three-book deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-09-01 19:21:33 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #three-book deal


In music, imprisoned Jews found comfort, dignity and sometimes a lifeline

Kellie D. Brown writes that music brought some hope to Nazi concentration camps. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-08-28 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


After her epic debut novel on slavery's descendants, Yaa Gyasi wrote even closer to home

In 'Transcendent Kingdom,' Yaa Gyasi's second novel, she focuses on America — its promise and peril — and on one Ghanaian American family in Alabama. Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2020-08-27 16:49:47 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #yaa gyasi #transcendent kingdom


S&S scoops Deonn's 'inspired' YA debut

Simon & Schuster Children's is to publish Legendborn by debut novelist Tracy Deonn this autumn.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-26 23:03:05 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #schuster #ya debut


Gollancz lands Cameron sci-fi debut

Gollancz has landed a sci-fi debut by fantasy novelist Miles Cameron, who also writes historical fiction as Christian Cameron. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-26 17:11:19 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #historical fiction #sci-fi debut


Yellow Kite wins five-way auction for psychotherapist's debut

Yellow Kite has won psychotherapist and mental health consultant Zoë Aston's first book in a five-way auction.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-26 11:34:22 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #yellow kite


Sam Thompson goes to Little Island for children's debut

Little Island Books will publish the debut children’s book of Booker-longlisted novelist Sam Thompson in 2021. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-24 12:43:48 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #children’s book #island books #debut children


Tinder bags debut novel of former Mr B's bookseller Ishiguro

Tinder Press has acquired a debut novel by Naomi Ishiguro, former bookseller and bibliotherapist at Mr B’s Emporium in Bath. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-20 02:07:21 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #bookseller #tinder press


Bloomsbury Children's scoops Clare Weze's 'brilliant' debut

Bloomsbury Children's Books is to publish middle-grade adventure Alfie Miller, Lightning Catcher by debut author Clare Weze.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-19 13:19:12 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #bloomsbury #debut author #bloomsbury children


Duckworth Books buys debut 'rom-com with a twist'

Farrago, Duckworth's fiction imprint, has acquired Lee Farnsworth’s debut novel Odd Bird.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-19 02:58:12 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #fiction imprint


The Music and the Mirror

In Hope Larson’s graphic novel “All Together Now,” an eighth-grade singer-songwriter struggles to find her voice after the band she started breaks up. Continue reading at The New York Times

[ The New York Times | 2020-08-15 14:56:16 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #graphic novel #hope larson


Allen & Unwin acquires Reeves debut, Victoria Park

Allen & Unwin is publishing Victoria Park, the debut novel of British teacher Gemma Reeves, set in contemporary east London.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-14 03:42:15 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel


S&S signs three-book deal with debut illustrator Adam Beer

Simon & Schuster Children’s UK has signed three picture books from illustrator Adam Beer in a "significant" deal, incuding two titles which will be published in partnership with author Anna Kemp. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-12 08:37:53 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #schuster #picture books


PRH Children's triumphs in 15-way auction for Fadugba debut

Penguin Random House Children’s has won a 15-way auction to publish a "genre-defying, time-travelling" YA thriller, The Upper World by Femi Fadugba. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-11 13:52:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #penguin random house #ya thriller #prh children


Corvus strikes two-book deal with debut author Katy Cox

Atlantic's Corvus imprint has acquired two novels from debut author Katy Cox, including M is for Mummy, a "warm and witty" story about parenting an autistic child.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-11 05:57:45 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut author #autistic child #corvus imprint


Faber scoops Kae Tempest's debut non-fiction

Faber is to publish writer and performer Kae Tempest's first work of non-fiction this autumn.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-10 02:17:49 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


Lee Conell’s debut novel is a gripping tale of class and privilege

“The Party Upstairs” focuses on the tenants of one building on Manhattan’s Upper West Side Continue reading at The Economist

[ The Economist | 2020-08-08 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #gripping tale #lee conell