'Wonderstruck' spins a visually captivating and fully engrossing tale of wonder for movie fans of all ages

With its intricate structure and 600-plus page length, Brian Selznick's "Wonderstruck" is not the easiest Young Adult novel to bring to the screen, and filmmaker Todd Haynes is not the likeliest director to take on any YA book, easy or not. Yet, working beautifully together with a major assist... Continue reading at 'Los Angeles Times'

[ Los Angeles Times | 2017-10-20 00:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #brian selznick #ya book

Other Publishing stories related to: ''Wonderstruck' spins a visually captivating and fully engrossing tale of wonder for movie fans of all ages'


Anna Solomon’s ‘Book of V’ will please fans of ‘The Hours’ with its sprawling take on a biblical tale

Anna Solomon’s retelling of the Purim story entwines the past and present beautifully. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-05-04 13:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


For fans of ‘The Handmaid’s Tale,’ a debut novel with a dark setting and an unforgettable heroine

Set in alternate Tudor England, “Sin Eater” by Megan Campisi is a riveting tale of female empowerment. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-15 06:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel


For fans of Indiana Jones and Dan Brown, an adventure story for the ages

Talbot Mundy’s “The Nine Unknown,” a 1920s occult thriller, is among several literary gems now in the public domain. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-07 14:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #public domain #literary gems #adventure story #dan brown


Why are women so captivated by tales of murder?

Rachel Monroe urges us to think more critically about the true-crime genre’s appeal. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2019-08-23 12:29:55 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


A Captivating Coming-of-Age Story Inspired by the Tudors

The young heroine of Dylan Meconis’s graphic novel “Queen of the Sea” learns how suddenly, and ruthlessly, fortune can turn a queen into a pawn. Continue reading at The New York Times

[ The New York Times | 2019-06-25 19:52:06 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #graphic novel


Movie Alert: 'Wonderstruck'

We spoke with Brian Selznick about the creative challenges of adapting his heavily illustrated novel to the screen. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2017-09-26 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #brian selznick #movie alert


6 Rules for Making Movies in the VR Age

From virtual reality films to self-published books, the entertainment world is full of exciting new ideas. The post 6 Rules for Making Movies in the VR Age appeared first on WIRED. Continue reading at Wired

[ Wired | 2015-08-26 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #self-published books


Corvus signs 'captivating' curse tale

Atlantic imprint Corvus has signed a novel about a young librarian by Erika Swyler. Editorial director Sara O'Keeffe signed UK and Commonwealth rights, excluding Canada, in The Book of Speculation in a deal with John Wordsworth at Zeno Agency on behalf of the Folio Literary Agency. The book... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2015-02-07 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #zeno agency #corvus signs


A Publisher of the Fans, By the Fans, for the Fans

Fanbase Press, the Los Angeles–based comics publisher, is focusing on building a pop culture business steeped in the fan community. It's working. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2018-04-06 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #fan community


Tales of The Handmaid’s Tale

How The Handmaid’s Tale keeps going, with Margaret Atwood, Ann Dowd, and novelists Louise Erdrich and Megan Hunter. Continue reading at Slate

[ Slate | 2019-08-29 21:00:04 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #novelists #margaret atwood


'Wild' movie adaptation secures a movie studio

The film adaptation of Cheryl Strayed's memoir 'Wild' will be brought to the big screen by Fox Searchlight Pictures. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2013-07-19 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #big screen #cheryl strayed #film adaptation


A Tale of Two Economic Indicators: Publishing’s Long Road to Recovery Will Require More Detours

This morning I woke up to two very different pieces of news, yet they are very much connected. The first was the news that the U.S. unemployment rate fell to 11.1% in June, and as a nation we added 4.8 million jobs to the economy. Certainly it’s good news that the trend line has moved downward... Continue reading at Folio Magazine

[ Folio Magazine | 2020-07-02 16:42:10 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #great deal #bounce back #annual celebration


Yale UP snaps up English translation of Lévy’s The Virus in the Age of Madness

Yale University Press will publish the English translation of Bernard-Henri Lévy’s The Virus in the Age of Madness.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-07-02 02:19:04 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #english translation


‘The Taste of Sugar’ offers a thrilling look at Puerto Rico’s history through the tale of one couple’s struggle to survive

Marisel Vera’s historical novel revisits the 1899 hurricane that decimated the island. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-06-22 11:06:04 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #puerto rico


Felicity Bryan dies, aged 74

Literary agent Felicity Bryan has died, aged 74. She died on Sunday (June 21st) at her home in Kidlington "as she had wished", according to a statement from her family. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-06-22 06:13:43 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #literary agent


Hope you like horrifying CGI, because we’re getting an Animorphs movie.

After spending the week getting destroyed by Gen Z on TikTok, here’s some good news for millennials: every 90s kid’s favorite portmanteau-titled book series is finally(?) getting a film adaptation. For the unacquainted(/Irish), the Animorphs were a scrappy gang of teens who, according to... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-06-18 18:44:19 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book series #film adaptation


Carlos Ruiz Zafón dies, aged 55

Spanish author Carlos Ruiz Zafón, whose novels include bestseller The Shadow of the Wind, has died at the age of 55. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-06-18 16:39:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Fairies and their magical worlds have captivated us for centuries. Here are some of the books that did it best.

Emerging from the mist of British folk tales and beliefs, the Fae did not always resemble the cute winged creatures in Disney’s “Peter Pan.” Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-06-16 05:17:33 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #peter pan #magical worlds


‘Valley of the Dolls’ may be the best bad movie — and novel. A new book explores Jacqueline Susann’s cult hit.

Stephen Rebello’s “Dolls! Dolls! Dolls!” is a more than just a gossipy look at the making of the film everyone loves to hate. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-06-12 12:12:21 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: