Transworld wins auction for Gárdos love story

Transworld has acquired a post-Holocaust love story by Hungarian author Péter Gárdos, said to be "the talk of London Book Fair", in a nine-way auction.   Jane Lawson, editorial director at Doubleday, bought UK and Commonwealth rights, excluding Australia New Zealand, for Fever at Dawn, in a deal with Sarah Lutyens of Lutyens and Rubinstein, on behalf of Michael Heyward of Text Publishing.   Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2015-05-12 00:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #text publishing #michael heyward #excluding australia #bought uk #jane lawson #sarah lutyens

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Transworld wins auction for Gárdos love story'


Transworld wins 10-way auction for His Name is George Floyd

Transworld has triumphed in a 10-way auction for His Name is George Floyd by two Washington Post reporters, Robert Samuels and Toluse Olorunnipa.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2021-11-09 17:52:20 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #george floyd


Yellow Kite wins eight-way auction for Aldo Kane's story

Yellow Kite has acquired Aldo Kane's "inspirational" memoir Lessons From the Edge, following an eight-way auction.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2021-02-18 23:37:01 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #yellow kite


W&N wins Sweeney's 'beguiling' short story collection at auction

W&N is publishing Irish author Cathy Sweeney's debut collection of short stories, described as a "look at the world from a lopsided perspective", following a "heated" auction. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-03-27 07:58:19 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #debut collection


Transworld acquires nostalgic love story Mix Tape for six figures

Transworld has acquired Jane Sanderson's latest novel, a "nostalgic and romantic" story called Mix Tape pitched as perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Laura Barnett, in a six-figure deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-01-09 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #six-figure deal #laura barnett #david nicholls


Transworld wins Fox's 'important' military memoir in seven-way auction

Transworld has acquired a memoir by Jason Fox, an ex-special forces soldier and frontman of Channel 4’s hit show "SAS: Who Dares Wins", in a seven-way auction. In his book, entitled Battle Scars, Fox will give an account of the operations that defined his military service and honestly discuss... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2018-08-08 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dares wins #hit show #jason fox #military memoir


Picador wins auction for Armfield short stories

Picador has won an auction to publish a short story collection about women, "the body and the bodily", from the White Review Short Story Prize-winning author Julia Armfield. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2018-08-04 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


4th Estate wins seven-way auction for Silicon Valley story

4th Estate’s Anna Kelly has won a seven-way auction to publish a debut non-fiction book about the perils of digital start-ups. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2018-01-30 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #digital start-ups #4th estate


Octopus wins Official Love Island Guide after auction

Hamlyn, part of Octopus Publishing Group, has acquired the official book of ITV2’s "Love Island" following a "hotly contested" auction. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2017-07-29 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #hotly contested #love island


Phoebe Roy wins the Sceptre Loves short story prize

Phoebe Roy has won Sceptre's "Sceptre Loves" short story prize for "It Was Summer", a story charting a relationship between two men as it changes with the seasons. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2017-03-25 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Faber wins nine-way auction for 'fascinating' story of British Isles

Faber & Faber has acquired The City That Fell of a Cliff by historian Matthew Green following a "heated" nine-way auction.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2016-12-20 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #faber faber #british isles


Sphere wins 'life-affirming story' in six-way auction

Sphere Fiction has won a "hotly-contested" six-way auction to publish Eva Woods' "life-affirming" story of love, loss and female friendship, How to be Happy, in October 2017. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2016-09-08 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #female friendship #sphere fiction #sphere wins


Transworld wins debut thriller The Couple Next Door after auction

Transworld has acquired a debut thriller, The Couple Next Door, in a "hotly contested" auction. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2016-01-14 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #hotly contested #debut thriller


Transworld wins 10-way auction for zoologist's book

Transworld has acquired two new books by National Geographic explorer Lucy Cooke. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2015-11-28 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Transworld wins auction for Disclaimer

Transworld is to publish a debut psychological thriller by Faber Academy alumnus Renee Knight,... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2014-02-25 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Transworld wins nine-way auction for debut

Written By: Charlotte Williams Publication Date: Tue, 27/09/2011 - 09:20 Transworld and Random House Australia have acquired debut novel The Light Between Oceans by M L Stedman, winning a nine-way auction for the title. Doubleday editorial director Jane Lawson bought UK and Commonwealth rights... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-09-27 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #beverley cousins


‘Heartstopper’ Is a TV Love Story With the Soul of a Comic

This faithful Netflix adaptation of a popular webcomic and graphic novel tells a heartwarming boy-meets-boy tale through live action and animation. Continue reading at The New York Times

[ The New York Times | 2022-05-09 20:44:12 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #graphic novel #live action #popular webcomic


Brandon Taylor's 'Filthy Animals' Wins 2022 Story Prize

Taylor's second book, published by Riverhead, won the $20,000 prize honoring an outstanding story collection published in 2021. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2022-04-13 04:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #filthy animals #brandon taylor


Trapeze wins four-way auction for Arthanayake’s conversation guide

Trapeze has signed Nihal Arthanayake’s "game-changing" Let’s Talk: How to Have Better Conversations following a four-way auction.   Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2022-01-25 22:13:43 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


Fourth Estate wins 11-way auction for Adegoke's 'sensational' debut novel

Fourth Estate has triumphed in an 11-publisher auction for Yomi Adegoke’s "entertaining and daring" debut novel. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2022-01-18 11:55:31 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #fourth estate #yomi adegoke #11-publisher auction