Seven books to give as graduation gifts other than Dr. Seuss’ ‘Oh, the Places You'll Go!’

Oh, the copies of "Oh, the Places You'll Go!" every student receives when they graduate. There's nothing wrong with Dr. Seuss, of course, but by the time that young person in your family walks on the stage to claim her diploma, she's probably received that children's classic several times. If you're... Continue reading at 'Los Angeles Times'

[ Los Angeles Times | 2019-05-09 18:35:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #young person

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Seven books to give as graduation gifts other than Dr. Seuss’ ‘Oh, the Places You'll Go!’'


How Dr. Seuss’s ‘Oh, the Places You’ll Go’ became a graduation-gift cliche

The extraordinary, continued success of the book stems from the book’s infinitely flexible appropriateness. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2019-05-29 15:20:58 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #continued success


Oh, the places you'll go! A Dr. Seuss museum opens in Massachusetts

Do you like green eggs and ham? Do you like them in a house? How about in a house that’s a museum dedicated to Dr. Seuss? Fans of Horton, Yertle the Turtle, Marvin K. Mooney and the Cat in the Hat now have a new vacation destination: A museum dedicated to legendary children's book author Dr.... Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2017-06-06 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #green eggs


Oh, the Parties You'll Throw: Celebrating the New Dr. Seuss Book Across the Country

Bookstores across the country threw parties to celebrate the release of the latest, never-before-seen Dr. Seuss picture book, 'What Pet Should I Get?' Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2015-08-06 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #seuss book


Best Books To Give As Gifts In 2020

Whether they're looking for a fantastical read or a good book to inspire a trip outdoors, these are the best books to give as gifts in 2020. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-11-18 11:31:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #good book


20 Of The Best Books To Give As Gifts This Year

These are the best books to gift this holiday season, according to book lovers on Goodreads. Continue reading at The Huffington Post

[ The Huffington Post | 2019-12-13 17:33:40 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book lovers #holiday season


The movies and books we'd give as gifts

"Stick to tech," you might be thinking right now. Well, in a way, we are. No, we're not pop culture critics, and hardcover books aren't gadgets. But our gift guide wouldn't be complete without some DVD (OK, fine, Blu-ray) recs, and what is our taste... Continue reading at Engadget

[ Engadget | 2019-11-11 06:30:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #hardcover


Melania Trump calls Massachusetts librarian's comments on Dr. Seuss book donation 'unfortunate' 

First Lady Melania Trump's communications team on Thursday brushed off a Massachusetts elementary school librarian's suspiciously political rejection of an honorary donation of 10 Dr. Seuss books for National Read a Book Day. "Turning the gesture of sending young schoolchildren books into... Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2017-09-29 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book day #communications team


Why Dr. Seuss's books still appeal to readers today

Seuss's birthday on March 2 is celebrated as Read Across America Day, in which book-based activities take place at schools and celebrities encourage children to pick up a title. How have Seuss's works appealed to generations? Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2016-03-04 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #readers today


Rediscovered Dr Seuss pet book breaking sales records

What Pet Should I Get? is publisher’s fastest-selling picture book yetHarper Lee’s Go Set A Watchman is not the only recently discovered work to be breaking records this summer. Dr Seuss’s long-forgotten manuscript What Pet Should I Get? has sold 200,000 copies in just a week, its American... Continue reading at The Guardian

[ The Guardian | 2015-08-07 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #latest addition #dr seuss #american publisher


How New Dr. Seuss Book Was Discovered in a Box by His Widow

Twenty-four years after the death of classic children's author Dr. Seuss, his hidden manuscript was published today to the delight of fans of all ages. Continue reading at ABC News

[ ABC News | 2015-07-23 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #published today #classic children #seuss book


PW Asks: What's Your Favorite Dr. Seuss Book and Why?

What's your favorite book by Dr. Seuss? To mark the publication of the lost-then-found new Seuss book 'What Pet Should I Get?' PW wants to know about your favorite! Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2015-07-21 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #favorite book #seuss book #pw asks #favorite dr


Dr Seuss' forgotten adult book of female nudes

As the world eagerly awaits the release of his unexpected posthumous book in July, renewed interest in the work of Dr Seuss has sent the internet into the research archives... and it turns out there's a forgotten book of female nudes hidden there in Theodor Geisl's bibliography.  Continue reading at Stuff

[ Stuff | 2015-03-03 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #renewed interest #dr seuss


Dr Seuss returns with newly discovered book What Pet Should I Get?

Dr Seuss long ago passed from the scene but old manuscripts by the beloved children's author keep turning up. Continue reading at Stuff

[ Stuff | 2015-02-19 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #beloved children


Hold on to your cat in the hat! Long lost Dr. Seuss book to be released

More than twenty years after his death a new Dr. Seuss book, "What Pet Should I Get?" will be published this summer.   Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2015-02-19 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #twenty years #seuss book


New Dr. Seuss Book "What Pet Should I Get?" Sounds Like A BuzzFeed Quiz

WTF LOL! The siblings from One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish are back in business.Nearly 24 years after his death, Dr. Seuss (aka Theodor Geisel) still has a few more rhymes to drop on the masses: Random House will publish Seuss's What Pet Should I Get? on July 28 with two more books to... Continue reading at Fast Company

[ Fast Company | 2015-02-18 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #random house #seuss book


B&N launches 'buy a Nook, we'll give a book,' promoting literacy one rhyme at a time

Sure, it's probably not going to convince you to pick up a new device if you weren't already in the market for one, but that's not really the point, right? Barnes & Noble's kicking off the season of giving with its "Buy a Nook, We'll Give a Book" promotion, which finds the company donating a... Continue reading at Engadget

[ Engadget | 2012-12-11 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #christmas day #barnes noble #promoting literacy #ll give #bn launches #book charity


Tablet and E-book reader Ownership Nearly Double Over the Holiday Gift-Giving Period

The share of adults in the United States who own tablet computers nearly doubled from 10% to 19% between mid-December and early January and the same surge in growth also applied to ebook readers, which also jumped from 10% to 19% over the same time ... Continue reading at Editor & Publisher

[ Editor & Publisher | 2012-01-23 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #ebook readers #early january #tablet computers


Dr. Seuss meet Dr. Dre: Online reading gets a new rhythm

Over the cool beats of a rapper's rhythm, Wes Tank is inspiring his YouTube followers with a new twist on children's book classics. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2020-04-09 17:56:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #children's book #book classics #youtube followers #wes tank #cool beats #online reading


Dr. Seuss meet Dr. Dre: Online reading gets a new rhythm

Over the cool beats of a rapper's rhythm, Wes Tank is inspiring his YouTube followers with a new twist on children's book classics. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2020-04-09 17:56:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #children's book #book classics #youtube followers #wes tank #cool beats #online reading