Seven books to give as graduation gifts other than Dr. Seuss’ ‘Oh, the Places You'll Go!’

Oh, the copies of "Oh, the Places You'll Go!" every student receives when they graduate. There's nothing wrong with Dr. Seuss, of course, but by the time that young person in your family walks on the stage to claim her diploma, she's probably received that children's classic several times. If you're... Continue reading at 'Los Angeles Times'

[ Los Angeles Times | 2019-05-09 18:35:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #young person

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Seven books to give as graduation gifts other than Dr. Seuss’ ‘Oh, the Places You'll Go!’'


How Dr. Seuss’s ‘Oh, the Places You’ll Go’ became a graduation-gift cliche

The extraordinary, continued success of the book stems from the book’s infinitely flexible appropriateness. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2019-05-29 15:20:58 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #continued success


Oh, the places you'll go! A Dr. Seuss museum opens in Massachusetts

Do you like green eggs and ham? Do you like them in a house? How about in a house that’s a museum dedicated to Dr. Seuss? Fans of Horton, Yertle the Turtle, Marvin K. Mooney and the Cat in the Hat now have a new vacation destination: A museum dedicated to legendary children's book author Dr.... Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2017-06-06 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #green eggs


Oh, the Parties You'll Throw: Celebrating the New Dr. Seuss Book Across the Country

Bookstores across the country threw parties to celebrate the release of the latest, never-before-seen Dr. Seuss picture book, 'What Pet Should I Get?' Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2015-08-06 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #seuss book


Oh, the places you’ll want to go! Two new books offer the most magical of escapes

“The Blind Accordionist” and “An Atlas of Extinct Countries” are waking dreams of adventure. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-06-23 16:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #waking dreams #books offer


Dr. Seuss Books Ruled Last Week's Bestseller List

Fueled by huge gains for a host of Dr. Seuss titles as well as solid results for several new books, unit sales of print books soared 34.2% last week over the week ended March 8, 2020, at outlets that report to NPD BookScan. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2021-03-11 05:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #solid results #seuss titles #huge gains #bestseller list


6 Dr. Seuss Books Will No Longer Be Published Over Offensive Images

The company that oversees the children’s author’s estate said that the titles contained depictions of groups that were “hurtful and wrong.” Continue reading at The New York Times

[ The New York Times | 2021-03-03 08:08:27 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #seuss books


Publisher pulls six Dr. Seuss books over racist portrayals

Dr. Seuss Enterprise, which oversees the author and illustrator’s legacy, has announced that it would no longer be selling “And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street” and “If I Ran the Zoo” because of racist and insensitive imagery. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2021-03-02 17:26:31 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #insensitive imagery #mulberry street #seuss books


6 Dr. Seuss Books to Cease Publication for Racist Images

Dr. Seuss Enterprises has announced that it will cease publication of six of the author's books due to their racist depictions. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2021-03-02 14:09:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #books due #seuss enterprises #cease publication #seuss books


6 Dr. Seuss books will no longer be published due to racist imagery

Six Dr. Seuss books — including And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street and If I Ran the Zoo — will stop being published because of racist and insensitive imagery, the business that preserves and protects the author's legacy said Tuesday. ... Continue reading at CBC

[ CBC | 2021-03-02 12:29:16 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #insensitive imagery #mulberry street #seuss books #racist imagery


Dr. Seuss Enterprises will stop publishing these 6 books due to racist imagery

‘Ceasing sales of these books is only part of our commitment and our broader plan to ensure Dr. Seuss Enterprises’ catalog represents and supports all communities and families.’ Six Dr. Seuss books are being pulled from publication, the organization who manages the late author’s legacy accounted... Continue reading at Fast Company

[ Fast Company | 2021-03-02 08:06:15 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #late author #racist imagery #stop publishing #seuss enterprises #seuss books


The time is right to cancel Dr. Seuss’s racist books

Anyone shocked by the cancellation of six Dr. Seuss books hasn’t been paying attention. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-03-02 06:26:28 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #paying attention


How a Dr. Seuss Book Was Just What I Needed

What happens when you let a fun and silly story sweep you away from your worries? Follow this parent down the Dr. Seuss rabbit hole. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2021-02-23 11:36:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #seuss book


Best Books To Give As Gifts In 2020

Whether they're looking for a fantastical read or a good book to inspire a trip outdoors, these are the best books to give as gifts in 2020. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-11-18 11:31:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #good book


20 Of The Best Books To Give As Gifts This Year

These are the best books to gift this holiday season, according to book lovers on Goodreads. Continue reading at The Huffington Post

[ The Huffington Post | 2019-12-13 17:33:40 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book lovers #holiday season


The movies and books we'd give as gifts

"Stick to tech," you might be thinking right now. Well, in a way, we are. No, we're not pop culture critics, and hardcover books aren't gadgets. But our gift guide wouldn't be complete without some DVD (OK, fine, Blu-ray) recs, and what is our taste... Continue reading at Engadget

[ Engadget | 2019-11-11 06:30:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #hardcover


Melania Trump calls Massachusetts librarian's comments on Dr. Seuss book donation 'unfortunate' 

First Lady Melania Trump's communications team on Thursday brushed off a Massachusetts elementary school librarian's suspiciously political rejection of an honorary donation of 10 Dr. Seuss books for National Read a Book Day. "Turning the gesture of sending young schoolchildren books into... Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2017-09-29 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book day #communications team


Why Dr. Seuss's books still appeal to readers today

Seuss's birthday on March 2 is celebrated as Read Across America Day, in which book-based activities take place at schools and celebrities encourage children to pick up a title. How have Seuss's works appealed to generations? Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2016-03-04 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #readers today


Rediscovered Dr Seuss pet book breaking sales records

What Pet Should I Get? is publisher’s fastest-selling picture book yetHarper Lee’s Go Set A Watchman is not the only recently discovered work to be breaking records this summer. Dr Seuss’s long-forgotten manuscript What Pet Should I Get? has sold 200,000 copies in just a week, its American... Continue reading at The Guardian

[ The Guardian | 2015-08-07 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #latest addition #dr seuss #american publisher


How New Dr. Seuss Book Was Discovered in a Box by His Widow

Twenty-four years after the death of classic children's author Dr. Seuss, his hidden manuscript was published today to the delight of fans of all ages. Continue reading at ABC News

[ ABC News | 2015-07-23 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #published today #classic children #seuss book