Melania Trump calls Massachusetts librarian's comments on Dr. Seuss book donation 'unfortunate' 

First Lady Melania Trump's communications team on Thursday brushed off a Massachusetts elementary school librarian's suspiciously political rejection of an honorary donation of 10 Dr. Seuss books for National Read a Book Day. "Turning the gesture of sending young schoolchildren books into something... Continue reading at 'Los Angeles Times'

[ Los Angeles Times | 2017-09-29 00:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #book day #communications team

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Melania Trump calls Massachusetts librarian's comments on Dr. Seuss book donation 'unfortunate' '


Dr. Seuss Books Ruled Last Week's Bestseller List

Fueled by huge gains for a host of Dr. Seuss titles as well as solid results for several new books, unit sales of print books soared 34.2% last week over the week ended March 8, 2020, at outlets that report to NPD BookScan. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2021-03-11 05:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #solid results #seuss titles #huge gains #bestseller list


6 Dr. Seuss Books Will No Longer Be Published Over Offensive Images

The company that oversees the children’s author’s estate said that the titles contained depictions of groups that were “hurtful and wrong.” Continue reading at The New York Times

[ The New York Times | 2021-03-03 08:08:27 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #seuss books


Publisher pulls six Dr. Seuss books over racist portrayals

Dr. Seuss Enterprise, which oversees the author and illustrator’s legacy, has announced that it would no longer be selling “And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street” and “If I Ran the Zoo” because of racist and insensitive imagery. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2021-03-02 17:26:31 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #insensitive imagery #mulberry street #seuss books


6 Dr. Seuss Books to Cease Publication for Racist Images

Dr. Seuss Enterprises has announced that it will cease publication of six of the author's books due to their racist depictions. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2021-03-02 14:09:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #books due #seuss enterprises #cease publication #seuss books


6 Dr. Seuss books will no longer be published due to racist imagery

Six Dr. Seuss books — including And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street and If I Ran the Zoo — will stop being published because of racist and insensitive imagery, the business that preserves and protects the author's legacy said Tuesday. ... Continue reading at CBC

[ CBC | 2021-03-02 12:29:16 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #insensitive imagery #mulberry street #seuss books #racist imagery


Dr. Seuss Enterprises will stop publishing these 6 books due to racist imagery

‘Ceasing sales of these books is only part of our commitment and our broader plan to ensure Dr. Seuss Enterprises’ catalog represents and supports all communities and families.’ Six Dr. Seuss books are being pulled from publication, the organization who manages the late author’s legacy accounted... Continue reading at Fast Company

[ Fast Company | 2021-03-02 08:06:15 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #late author #racist imagery #stop publishing #seuss enterprises #seuss books


The time is right to cancel Dr. Seuss’s racist books

Anyone shocked by the cancellation of six Dr. Seuss books hasn’t been paying attention. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-03-02 06:26:28 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #paying attention


How a Dr. Seuss Book Was Just What I Needed

What happens when you let a fun and silly story sweep you away from your worries? Follow this parent down the Dr. Seuss rabbit hole. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2021-02-23 11:36:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dr. seuss #seuss book


Melania Trump’s post-White House book might not be a memoir after all, which is fine.

For a while, Melania Trump has teased that she might write a book after the Trump family exits the White House. I, like many, had mixed feelings. On one hand, it’d be interesting to see the Trump administration from the point of the view of the famously sullen First Lady; but on the other hand,... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-12-10 18:18:04 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #literary hub #trump administration #mixed feelings #white house #melania trump


In new book, former Trump fixer Michael Cohen calls U.S. president 'organized crime don'

Michael Cohen's tell-all memoir makes the case that U.S. President Donald Trump is "guilty of the same crimes" that landed his former fixer in federal prison, offering a blow-by-blow account of Trump's alleged role in a hush money scandal that... Continue reading at CBC

[ CBC | 2020-09-06 04:12:05 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #blow-by-blow account #federal prison #memoir makes #michael cohen


Seven books to give as graduation gifts other than Dr. Seuss’ ‘Oh, the Places You'll Go!’

Oh, the copies of "Oh, the Places You'll Go!" every student receives when they graduate. There's nothing wrong with Dr. Seuss, of course, but by the time that young person in your family walks on the stage to claim her diploma, she's probably received that children's classic several times.... Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2019-05-09 18:35:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #young person


Asked about her critical new book, Trump calls Omarosa Manigault Newman ‘a lowlife’

President Trump has one word to describe former White House staffer and fellow reality-TV star Omarosa Manigault Newman: “Lowlife.” Manigault Newman says in her upcoming book, “Unhinged: An Insider's Account of the Trump White House,” that the president used racial slurs on the set of his reality... Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2018-08-12 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #racial slurs #manigault newman #upcoming book #president trump


Oh, the places you'll go! A Dr. Seuss museum opens in Massachusetts

Do you like green eggs and ham? Do you like them in a house? How about in a house that’s a museum dedicated to Dr. Seuss? Fans of Horton, Yertle the Turtle, Marvin K. Mooney and the Cat in the Hat now have a new vacation destination: A museum dedicated to legendary children's book author Dr.... Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2017-06-06 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #green eggs


Why Dr. Seuss's books still appeal to readers today

Seuss's birthday on March 2 is celebrated as Read Across America Day, in which book-based activities take place at schools and celebrities encourage children to pick up a title. How have Seuss's works appealed to generations? Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2016-03-04 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #readers today


Rediscovered Dr Seuss pet book breaking sales records

What Pet Should I Get? is publisher’s fastest-selling picture book yetHarper Lee’s Go Set A Watchman is not the only recently discovered work to be breaking records this summer. Dr Seuss’s long-forgotten manuscript What Pet Should I Get? has sold 200,000 copies in just a week, its American... Continue reading at The Guardian

[ The Guardian | 2015-08-07 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #latest addition #dr seuss #american publisher


Oh, the Parties You'll Throw: Celebrating the New Dr. Seuss Book Across the Country

Bookstores across the country threw parties to celebrate the release of the latest, never-before-seen Dr. Seuss picture book, 'What Pet Should I Get?' Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2015-08-06 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #seuss book


How New Dr. Seuss Book Was Discovered in a Box by His Widow

Twenty-four years after the death of classic children's author Dr. Seuss, his hidden manuscript was published today to the delight of fans of all ages. Continue reading at ABC News

[ ABC News | 2015-07-23 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #published today #classic children #seuss book


PW Asks: What's Your Favorite Dr. Seuss Book and Why?

What's your favorite book by Dr. Seuss? To mark the publication of the lost-then-found new Seuss book 'What Pet Should I Get?' PW wants to know about your favorite! Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2015-07-21 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #favorite book #seuss book #pw asks #favorite dr


Dr Seuss' forgotten adult book of female nudes

As the world eagerly awaits the release of his unexpected posthumous book in July, renewed interest in the work of Dr Seuss has sent the internet into the research archives... and it turns out there's a forgotten book of female nudes hidden there in Theodor Geisl's bibliography.  Continue reading at Stuff

[ Stuff | 2015-03-03 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #renewed interest #dr seuss