Jane Austen makes a cameo in a charming new novel about friendship and the literary life

‘Jane Austen and Shelley in the Garden’ whisks readers to Cambridge, Wales and Venice, in the company of a delightful gang of scholars. Continue reading at 'The Washington Post'

[ The Washington Post | 2021-09-10 12:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #delightful gang #whisks readers #jane austen #literary life

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Jane Austen makes a cameo in a charming new novel about friendship and the literary life'


‘Deep River’ bucks every literary trend, and that’s what makes it so charming

Karl Marlantes’s new novel is a sweeping family saga set in Oregon logging country. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2019-07-08 13:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #karl marlantes


‘The Jane Austen Society’ will especially delight the kinds of Austen fans who can recite ‘Persuasion’ from memory

Natalie Jenner’s debut novel is no Jane Austen work, but it does offer plenty of delights. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-06-09 16:11:41 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel


The Lost Books of Jane Austen by Janine Barchas review – how Austen's reputation has been warped

A deliciously original study of the cheap editions of Pride and Prejudice and other novels – ignored by literary scholars – casts new light on her readershipJane Austen aficionados think that they know the story of their favourite author’s posthumous dis-appearance and then re-emergence. For... Continue reading at The Guardian

[ The Guardian | 2019-12-11 07:30:31 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #novelists #memoir #youngest daughter #looked back #favourite author #widely read


What makes a good literary hoax? A political point, for starters

A true hoax provokes. It questions cultural biases, shattering conventions. But the curious case of the three men writing as a female author Carmen Mola does none of this. Continue reading at The Conversation

[ The Conversation | 2021-10-26 05:02:08 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #female author


Colm Toibin’s ‘The Magician’ imagines the adventurous life of a literary great

Thomas Mann may have written some very heavy books, but this biographical novel offers a more lighthearted portrait of the German writer. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-09-14 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #heavy books #thomas mann #colm toibin


The Adventures of Miss Barbara Pym by Paula Byrne – the ‘modern Jane Austen’?

This excellent cradle-to-grave biography of a much loved novelist who goes in and out of fashion captures her alarming habits and tormented love affairsIn 1971 the author Barbara Pym was at her day job at the International African Institute when she noticed “Mr C” laboriously attacking his... Continue reading at The Guardian

[ The Guardian | 2021-04-08 06:30:07 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #jonathan cape #publishing house #novelists #future books #philip larkin #contemporary literature #frederick forsyth


Look inside a new series of Jane Austen novels, rewritten and illustrated for children.

It is a truth universally acknowledged . . . that Northanger Abbey is less quotable than Pride and Prejudice. Nevertheless, Northanger Abbey is the latest of Austen’s six novels to be adapted into an illustrated children’s book for the Awesomely Austen: Illustrated and Retold series. The text of... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-12-01 17:54:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #children’s book #literary hub


A new Jane Austen anthology series is coming to the CW.

It is a truth universally acknowledged . . . that the CW is developing an anthology series inspired by Jane Austen’s works! The series, titled Modern Austen, will tackle a different Jane Austen novel each season and reimagine it as six modern stories. Modern Austen’s first season will set Pride... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-11-13 16:26:19 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #anthology #literary hub #jane austen


A rock photographer who captured John Lennon, Mick Jagger and Gene Simmons looks back on a charmed life

Bob Gruen’s “Right Place, Right Time” is a low-key chronicle of a man going with the flow. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-11-04 14:40:16 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #bob gruen #mick jagger


Susanna Clarke’s infinitely clever ‘Piranesi’ is enough to make you appreciate life in quarantine

Fans of “Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell” have waited a long time for Clarke’s second novel. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-09-08 16:23:45 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time #susanna clarke


Jane Austen rescued her: A memoir about reading and solace

Rachel Cohen never imagined that she would experience a stretch of time in which she only wanted to read Austen. Until it happened. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2020-07-22 22:40:11 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #read austen #rachel cohen


Jane Austen rescued her: A memoir about reading and solace

Rachel Cohen never imagined that she would experience a stretch of time in which she only wanted to read Austen. Until it happened. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2020-07-22 22:40:11 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #read austen #rachel cohen


Jane Austen rescued her: A memoir about reading and solace

Rachel Cohen never imagined that she would experience a stretch of time in which she only wanted to read Austen. Until it happened. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2020-07-22 22:40:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #read austen #rachel cohen


The Consolations of Jane Austen

Through the trials of new motherhood and the loss of a parent, Rachel Cohen read the English novelist exclusively. “Austen Years” is her memoir of the experience. Continue reading at The New York Times

[ The New York Times | 2020-07-21 09:00:08 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #jane austen


How 50 Years of Frog and Toad Shaped Countless Literary Friendships

Mo Willems, Kyo Maclear, and other children’s book authors on what Arnold Lobel’s series means to them. Continue reading at Slate

[ Slate | 2020-07-03 14:30:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #children’s book #book authors #kyo maclear #mo willems


In ‘Short Life in a Strange World,’ paintings by Pieter Bruegel the Elder help an author make sense of his existence

Toby Ferris traveled across Europe to see all of the Dutch Renaissance painter’s surviving work. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-03-11 18:07:05 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #strange world #short life


Jane Austen, Gritty Educational Reformer of the Working Class

From about 1890 to 1940, a half century of ultra-cheap editions of Jane Austen’s novels aimed explicitly at educating the working poor. Because these ill-printed and shabby versions of her stories never made it into the scholarly libraries that safeguard “important” editions, the hardscrabble... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-02-04 09:49:29 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #libraries #half century #working class #jane austen


A Literary Way of Life: Spotlight on New England

We look inside the bookish Northeast, where publishers with deep roots turn innovation into tradition. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2019-12-01 05:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


Alex Dimitrov and Dorothea Lasky, a.k.a. the Astro Poets, are here to make sense of modern life

The Twitter personalities discuss their new book and making astrology — as well as poetry — accessible. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2019-11-11 19:14:40 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #modern life #make sense #astro poets