‘It would be all right’: Novelist Susanna Moore finds solace in a sometimes troubling life story

In the memoir “Miss Aluminum,” the writer and former script reader for Jack Nicholson shares a #MeToo moment, and more. Continue reading at 'The Washington Post'

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-22 12:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #script reader ##metoo moment #memoir

Other Publishing stories related to: '‘It would be all right’: Novelist Susanna Moore finds solace in a sometimes troubling life story'


Deborah Tannen’s ‘Finding My Father’ pays tribute to a man whose many jobs became his life story

With so many contemporary memoirs devoted to the sins of the author’s mother, a focus on a loving dad seems a welcome change. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-09-23 05:01:31 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #life story #pays tribute


An unvarnished look at the troubled life of novelist Robert Stone

Madison Smartt Bell’s “Child of Light” is a revealing biography of the author of “Dog Soldiers” and “A Flag for Sunrise.” Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-03-27 17:30:40 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #dog soldiers


Are novelists obliged to tell the story of their private life?

My Dark Vanessa author Kate Elizabeth Russell was driven to reveal details of her past when accused of inauthenticity – but should we be seeking the truth elsewhere?Our world, more than at any time in history, is all about stories. Snapchat feeds capture your entire day, Instagram users... Continue reading at The Guardian

[ The Guardian | 2020-03-02 06:00:36 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #novelists #entire day #reveal details #private life


Best Life Magazine Finds a Second Life as a Digital Brand

From Metropolitan Home to Newsweek, we've seen a number of shuttered magazine titles revived (at least in some form) over the past couple of years. Now Best Life, the luxury men's service magazine, is getting a second life online—and with its original launch editor at the helm, no less. Best... Continue reading at AdWeek

[ AdWeek | 2016-10-13 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #branded videos #print magazine


Finding 'value in the valley': YA authors at a Festival panel on Black life and self-love

At a Times Book Festival panel on Black YA fiction, Dean Atta, Morgan Parker, Yusef Salaam and Ibi Zoboi discussed stories of teens making it through. Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2021-04-18 01:13:11 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #times book #yusef salaam #dean atta #ya authors


It took a woman with autism 25 years to find her voice. Now she’s telling her story.

The memoir “I Have Been Buried Under Years of Dust” chronicles one family’s struggles and victories. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-04-09 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir


Rep. John Lewis’s Life Story Continues in ‘Run: Book One’

'Run: Book One', a posthumous work by the late civil rights icon Rep. John Lewis, is the continuation of his National Book Award-winning graphic memoir The March trilogy. The book will be published by Abrams ComicArts in August 2021. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2021-03-31 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #graphic memoir #abrams comicarts #march trilogy #john lewis


John Edgar Wideman’s Stories Vividly Evoke Life in Pittsburgh and Many Other Places

“You Made Me Love You” collects short stories from throughout Wideman’s acclaimed career. Continue reading at The New York Times

[ The New York Times | 2021-03-26 20:23:09 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories


Paul McCartney tells life story through lyrics for Allen Lane

Paul McCartney has written the “extraordinary” story of his life for the first time through the prism of 154 song lyrics, to be published by Allen Lane. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2021-02-24 12:41:28 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #extraordinary story #paul mccartney #allen lane


Pam Mandel on Discovering the True-to-Life YA Story She Was Meant to Tell: Her Own

On this episode of Personal Space: The Memoir Show, Sari Botton interviews Pam Mandel, whose book, The Same River Twice: A Memoir of Dirtbag Backpackers, Bomb Shelters, and Bad Travel, is out from Skyhorse Publishing. The book charts Mandel’s travels abroad as a young woman trying to figure out... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2021-01-29 09:48:53 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #young woman #skyhorse publishing #personal space #memoir show


These women divers are living legends. How novelist Lisa See captured their story

Bestselling novelist Lisa See brings'The Island of Sea Women' to the L.A. Times Book Club Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2021-01-08 15:00:51 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #times book


A Little Library Life: On Finding Sanctuary in On-Campus Libraries

One reader on finding solace and sanctuary in college libraries as a transfer student. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-09-17 10:39:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #libraries #finding solace


Susanna Clarke’s infinitely clever ‘Piranesi’ is enough to make you appreciate life in quarantine

Fans of “Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell” have waited a long time for Clarke’s second novel. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-09-08 16:23:45 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time #susanna clarke


JG Farrell's The Singapore Grip: new TV adaptation brings to life the final book by one of the UK's finest novelists

The writer was drowned at the age of 44, but he left three novels which have come to represent the decline of the British Empire. Continue reading at The Conversation

[ The Conversation | 2020-09-03 13:13:15 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #final book #british empire


Poets and novelists have been writing about life under COVID-19 for more than a century

From 'islands of pain' to the 'peril of exposure,' writers have captured the fear, emptiness and despair that characterize life during the current pandemic, writes a poet and English scholar. Continue reading at The Conversation

[ The Conversation | 2020-08-17 12:24:39 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #novelists #current pandemic


HarperCollins lands life story of South Africa rugby captain Siya Kolisi

HarperCollins has landed the life story of Siya Kolisi, Springboks captain and star of South Africa’s 2019 World Cup-winning rugby team. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-07-07 05:01:43 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #harpercollins #south africa #life story


Charles Dickens: how two novelists gave Great Expectations a second life in the Pacific

Two sequels which show how the Victorian novelist's stories can be adapted to reflect post-colonial narratives. Continue reading at The Conversation

[ The Conversation | 2020-06-08 16:19:12 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #novelists #charles dickens


“Miss Aluminum,” Susanna Moore’s Memoir of Trauma and Transformation

Naomi Fry on “Miss Aluminum,” a new memoir by Susanna Moore, who is known for her 1995 thriller “In the Cut.” Continue reading at New Yorker

[ New Yorker | 2020-05-19 10:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #susanna moore


Poet and comedian Derrick C. Brown finds the bright spots in quarantine life

For National Poetry Month, Brown launched “Goodnight America,” a weekly series of live performances on Zoom that combine poetry, comedy and lullabies. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-30 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #weekly series #bright spots