Burns Night: stories of adventure and anguish from the Scottish diaspora

The story of the Scottish diaspora has been well told in print. Now a new audio book brings emigrant stories to life in their own words. Continue reading at 'The Conversation'

[ The Conversation | 2021-01-22 17:53:17 UTC ]
News tagged with: #audio book #scottish diaspora #burns night

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Burns Night: stories of adventure and anguish from the Scottish diaspora'


Old mysteries and adventure stories deliver a dose Grand Guignol theatricality and nonstop comic-book action

There are nostalgic pleasures aplenty in stories published in 1930s pulp magazines or dramatized in 1940s radio programs. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-02-24 16:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #stories published


For fans of Indiana Jones and Dan Brown, an adventure story for the ages

Talbot Mundy’s “The Nine Unknown,” a 1920s occult thriller, is among several literary gems now in the public domain. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-07 14:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #public domain #literary gems #adventure story #dan brown #indiana jones


Faber to publish Anna Burns short story in new series

Faber has announced its third set of Faber Stories series to be published in October, featuring the likes of Man Booker winner Anna Burns and critically acclaimed US novelist Barbara Kingsolver. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-08-28 09:25:10 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #critically acclaimed


8 Creepy Short Stories to Keep You Up at Night

These are some of the best creepy short stories that I've assigned (or WOULD assign) to keep my students intrigued (and terrified). Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2019-08-14 10:34:44 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories


English translations of Armenian memoirs share diaspora stories with a new generation

In the spring of 1915, college student Hagop Abadjian left school to escape conscription into the Ottoman military and embarked on a journey that led him back to Musa Dagh, the mountain in Turkey that was his home. A half-century later, Hagop recounted this trek over seven pages typewritten in... Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2019-04-19 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #musa dagh


Good Night Stories for Rebel ... Boys? Male versions of bestseller arrive on shelves

After the huge success of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls, similar projects for boys are beginning to showcase men like Grayson Perry, Stormzy and Usain BoltAfter harnessing the imaginations of millions of girls with a wave of nonfiction books aimed at empowering women, such as bestseller... Continue reading at The Guardian

[ The Guardian | 2018-04-20 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #triumphant return #similar projects #huge success


Good Night Stories scoops Blackwell's Book of the Year award

Blackwell’s has named its Book of the Year as the "inspirational" Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls (Particular Books) by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2017-12-12 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #francesca cavallo #elena favilli


Pasquale's 'dark and surreal' horror stories to Caffeine Nights

Caffeine Nights Publishing has signed world rights to a collection of "dark and surreal" horror stories from comedian Joe Pasquale. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2017-08-08 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #caffeine nights


Cover Story: The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge

Designer Will Staehle's book jacket taps into what the 'hypnotic sensibilities' of the novel, a story of obsession and H.P. Lovecraft. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2017-03-02 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #cover story


'Need for stories' as World Book Night celebrates

World Book Night founder Jamie Byng spoke about the "need" for stories as the 2012... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2012-04-24 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Are All Short Stories O. Henry Stories?

The writer’s signature style of ending—a final, thrilling note—has the touch of magic that distinguishes the form at its best. Continue reading at New Yorker

[ New Yorker | 2021-06-28 10:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #signature style


Andersen Press to relaunch online story sessions with Seven Stories

Andersen Press is to relaunch its weekly online children's storytime sessions in partnership with Seven Stories, the National Centre for Children's Books. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2021-01-15 10:26:35 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #national centre #andersen press


Boston Picks Grace Talusan Story for One City Story

The Boston Book Festival has announced that a short story by Grace Talusan is the 10th annual selection for its One City One Story initiative. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2020-07-24 04:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book festival #short story


A Story of All Stories: On Erin Morgenstern’s “The Starless Sea”

THE STARLESS SEA, Erin Morgenstern’s sophomore fantasy novel, takes effort to read, but there are countless narratively complex works of science fiction and fantasy that amply reward such effort: N. K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season comes to mind as one recent, prominent example of the type. The... Continue reading at Los Angeles Review of Books

[ Los Angeles Review of Books | 2020-06-20 17:00:48 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #science fiction #starless sea #erin morgenstern


Viral Story of Edmund Kemper’s Audiobook Narration Tells Bigger Story

The Edmund Kemper, audiobook narrator story is sensational. The work of The Blind Project, though, is vital, important, and worth knowing. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2019-10-14 10:35:39 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #audiobook


More than 'story, bonking, story': why you've never heard of Australia's best-selling authors

In pushing the romance genre aside, Australia’s publishing industry sent its most successful writers to pursue their careers abroadNalini Singh is trying to convince me to read a love story starring bears. The tiny author is tucked up under a huge scarf in a cafe on a freezing August day in... Continue reading at The Guardian

[ The Guardian | 2019-08-17 22:00:54 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #publishing industry #dystopian future #41st book #romance genre


London Book Fair 2019: Why the Story of Our Networked World Is a Story of Upheaval

In his new book, former F.C.C. Chariman Tom Wheeler deftly explores 500 years of network revolutions, and offers an invaluable take on the challenges we now face. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2019-03-11 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Cambridge University and First Story unveiled as BBC short story awards partners

First Story and the University of Cambridge are the new partners of the BBC’s short story awards, replacing BookTrust, in a three-year collaboration starting in 2018. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2017-09-29 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #cambridge university


Libreria to mark night tube with all-night event

Libreria bookshop in East London is holding an all-night event to mark the launch of London’s Night Tube. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2016-08-17 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #east london