Blackman to curate YA love story anthology

Random House Children’s Publishers (RHCP) will next year publish a collection of YA love stories edited by children’s laureate Malorie Blackman.  Love Hurts is a mixture of new stories and extracts from published books. Contributing authors include Melvin Burgess, James Dawson, Laura Dockrill, Patrick Ness,Phil Earle, Matt Haig, Non Pratt, David Levithan, Bali Rai and Maureen Johnson.   Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2014-10-18 00:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #love hurts #published books #james dawson #laura dockrill #patrick ness #phil earle #matt haig #david levithan #bali rai #maureen johnson

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Blackman to curate YA love story anthology'


HCG scoops Byrne's YA afterlife love story

Hachette Children’s Group has scooped a YA lesbian love story set in the afterlife by Tanya Byrne in a two-book deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-11-01 11:13:30 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #hachette #hachette children


Jackson, Blackman and Hardinge in the running for YA Book Prize 2020

Début author Holly Jackson is up against heavyweight names, including Malorie Blackman and Frances Hardinge, on the shortlist for the YA Book Prize 2020. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-03-25 22:04:36 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #ya book #frances hardinge


Century pre-empts high-concept love story 'for "Fleabag" generation'

Century has pre-empted a high-concept love story "for the 'Fleabag' generation" by debut author Emma Hughes in a two-book deal.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-03-03 06:09:58 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Faber pre-empts Ross' 'rare' love story 15 years in the making

Faber has pre-empted Leone Ross' "lightning bolt of a novel", about two star-crossed lovers finding their way back to one another over a single day. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-02-18 18:09:43 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #single day #lightning bolt


Scarlett Curtis to curate mental health anthology

Scarlett Curtis, the writer and activist behind Feminists Don't Wear Pink (and other lies), is curating a second anthology for Penguin about mental health. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-07-29 13:46:30 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #anthology #mental health #scarlett curtis


Mantle triumphs in five-way battle for Carter love story

Pan Mac imprint Mantle has triumphed in a five-way battle for a "true heartbreaker of a love story" from Eva Carter in a two-book deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-07-29 08:37:44 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #love story


Movies Aren’t Telling Love Stories Anymore. So The New York Times Brought Them to Amazon

The romance genre has all but disappeared from films, so now several cable and streaming outlets have claimed it for themselves. The latest to jump on board is Amazon Prime Video. The streaming service will soon air Modern Love, a new anthology series debuting Oct. 18 that features eight... Continue reading at AdWeek

[ AdWeek | 2019-07-28 00:59:10 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #anthology #streaming service #romance genre


Headline lands Babalola debut retelling love stories from mythology

Headline has landed debut author Bolu Babalola’s retelling of love stories from mythology and history, celebrating "wildly beautiful and astonishingly diverse tales of romance and desire". Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-07-03 16:39:47 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut author


Panel Mania: Me, Mikko, and Annikki: A Community Love Story in a Finnish City by Tiitu Takalo

In this deeply researched work of graphic nonfiction, Finnish comics artist Tiitu Takalo has created an inspiring history of a grass roots movement to save an historic neighborhood from demolition, as well as a love story that chronicles her own relationship. This 11-page excerpt provides... Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2019-07-03 04:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #11-page excerpt #love story #graphic nonfiction #panel mania


Bell's 'Instagram love story' snapped up by HQ

HarperCollins has bought We Just Clicked, described as "a love story for the Instagram generation", and a second novel from romantic comedy author Anna Bell. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-06-20 23:59:03 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #harpercollins #love story


Trapeze clinches 'emotionally charged' love story from suspense writer Adams

Trapeze has snapped up a “sweeping” love story by Michelle Adams, marking a change in direction for the suspense author and scientist, as the Cornwall-based tale also attracts auctions and pre-empts from across the world. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-06-13 19:27:46 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #love story


Picador buys 'gripping' Hadlow true story of Regency love triangle

Picador has bought Janice Hadlow’s “gripping” true story of a Regency love triangle involving the Duchess of Devonshire's sister and a rakish aristocrat. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-04-05 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #picador buys


Hodder scoops Miller's 'high-concept love story' in pre-empt two-book deal

Hodder & Stoughton has scooped a “moving and unforgettable high-concept love story” by Holly Miller in a pre-emptive two-book deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-02-21 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #hodder stoughton


Harper Inspire novel to tell C S Lewis love story

Harper Inspire has acquired a fictional re-telling of one of the most famous love stories set in the world of books – the love affair between the US writer and poet Joy Davidman and C S Lewis. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-01-31 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #love affair #harper inspire


Transworld acquires nostalgic love story Mix Tape for six figures

Transworld has acquired Jane Sanderson's latest novel, a "nostalgic and romantic" story called Mix Tape pitched as perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Laura Barnett, in a six-figure deal. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2019-01-09 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #six-figure deal #laura barnett #david nicholls


Audible to produce new anthology as new sponsor for The Sunday Times Short Story Award

Audible has been announced as a new sponsor for, what will now be known as, the Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award 2019. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2018-12-16 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Avon snaps up Williams' 'love story of near-misses'

HarperCollins' Avon imprint has acquired world all languages rights for a debut novel from journalist and author Laura Jane Williams. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2018-10-17 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #languages rights #love story #avon snaps


Gaiman, Smith and Ishiguro to feature in British short story anthology

Penguin is publishing a new anthology, The Penguin Book of the Contemporary British Short Story, "a literary treasure trove" of "30 great short stories published in the last 20 years", featuring contributors such as Zadie Smith, Irvine Welsh and Neil Gaiman. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2018-08-16 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #irvine welsh #neil gaiman #penguin book


Love story exploring male mental health to Orion

Orion has acquired the story of a 10-year relationship told in 24 hours, Our Life in a Day. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2018-06-02 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |