Alex Dimitrov and Dorothea Lasky, a.k.a. the Astro Poets, are here to make sense of modern life

The Twitter personalities discuss their new book and making astrology — as well as poetry — accessible. Continue reading at 'The Washington Post'

[ The Washington Post | 2019-11-11 19:14:40 UTC ]
News tagged with: #modern life #make sense #astro poets #dorothea lasky #alex dimitrov

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Alex Dimitrov and Dorothea Lasky, a.k.a. the Astro Poets, are here to make sense of modern life'


In Joel Agee’s wondrous ‘The Stone World’ a boy tries to make sense of life

The range and caliber of Joel Agee's work proves he's much more than the son of the late, Pulitzer-winning James Agee. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2022-02-22 12:00:34 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #make sense


In ‘Short Life in a Strange World,’ paintings by Pieter Bruegel the Elder help an author make sense of his existence

Toby Ferris traveled across Europe to see all of the Dutch Renaissance painter’s surviving work. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-03-11 18:07:05 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #strange world #short life


10 Slice-of-Life Romance Manga to Make You Smile

Get ready for some gentle feels and swoons by diving into this selection of the best slice-of-life romance manga, including My Love Mix-Up! by Wataru Hinekure and Aruko. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2022-03-15 10:33:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #manga


How Two Novelists and a Poet Made Me Change My Life

Are there certain books with topics you avoid? That you fear may leave you a little worse for wear? Here's what may happen if you read them. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2021-12-07 11:38:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #novelists


René Magritte was an enigma. A new biography tries to make sense of the genius.

“René Magritte,” by the late Alex Danchev, is an insightful and broad-reaching exploration of the artist. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-12-02 13:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #make sense


In Elif Shafak’s ‘The Island of Missing Trees,’ a surprising narrator makes sense of surreal events

Shafak’s new novel weaves the tumultuous history of Cyprus into a story of young lovers split apart. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-11-16 11:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #elif shafak


How notoriously private poet Mary Oliver once saved a depressed high school student’s life.

On this day in 1935, the highly acclaimed poet Mary Oliver was born in Maple Heights, Ohio. Oliver, who won a Pulitzer Prize in 1984 and later the National Book Award for Poetry in 1992, was by all accounts a private person who sought solace in the natural world. Throughout the course of her... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2021-09-10 15:24:16 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #pulitzer prize #national book award #natural world


Jane Austen makes a cameo in a charming new novel about friendship and the literary life

‘Jane Austen and Shelley in the Garden’ whisks readers to Cambridge, Wales and Venice, in the company of a delightful gang of scholars. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-09-10 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #jane austen #literary life


The Grindr Advice Column That Became a Memoir of Modern Queer Life

In “Hola Papi,” the writer John Paul Brammer mines his own experiences and traumas to deliver wisdom for queer readers. Continue reading at The New York Times

[ The New York Times | 2021-06-08 09:00:07 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir


Say It Loud: A Poet and Proud: The Life and Books of Al Young

Poet Al Young, who was also a novelist, memoirist, educator, and a former poet laureate of California, died April 17 from the complications of a stroke. He was 81. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2021-05-18 04:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #poet laureate


In Kazuo Ishiguro’s ‘Klara and the Sun,’ a robot tries to make sense of humanity

Ishiguro’s first novel since winning the Nobel Prize in 2017 is a delicate, haunting story, steeped in sorrow and hope. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2021-03-02 16:46:21 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #first novel #nobel prize #make sense #kazuo ishiguro


An independent curator tries to make sense of contemporary art

In Tony Godfrey’s entertaining book, artists, curators, museums and the all-devouring art market elbow one another for space on every page. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-12-29 13:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #contemporary art #make sense


Bryan Washington’s ‘Memorial’ is a tender look at modern family life

Washington’s debut novel, following his acclaimed story collection ‘Lot,’ captures the complexities of love, race and what connects us Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-10-27 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #bryan washington


Susanna Clarke’s infinitely clever ‘Piranesi’ is enough to make you appreciate life in quarantine

Fans of “Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell” have waited a long time for Clarke’s second novel. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-09-08 16:23:45 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time #susanna clarke


Poets and novelists have been writing about life under COVID-19 for more than a century

From 'islands of pain' to the 'peril of exposure,' writers have captured the fear, emptiness and despair that characterize life during the current pandemic, writes a poet and English scholar. Continue reading at The Conversation

[ The Conversation | 2020-08-17 12:24:39 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #novelists #current pandemic


How “Memorial Drive” Tries to Make Sense of a Mother’s Murder

Katy Waldman writes about “Memorial Drive,” a new memoir by the Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Natasha Trethewey, who pieces together memories of her mother, who was murdered by Trethewey’s stepfather. Continue reading at New Yorker

[ New Yorker | 2020-07-29 10:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #make sense #memorial drive


Two new horror novels make sense of our current dystopian reality

Josh Malerman’s “Malorie” and Paul Tremblay’s “Survivor Song” are timely in ways the authors could never have expected. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-07-07 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #josh malerman


Poet and comedian Derrick C. Brown finds the bright spots in quarantine life

For National Poetry Month, Brown launched “Goodnight America,” a weekly series of live performances on Zoom that combine poetry, comedy and lullabies. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-30 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #weekly series #bright spots


Alexandra Chang’s ‘Days of Distraction’ experiments with form to reveal the complexities of modern life

The debut novel intersperses the story of a tech reporter in Silicon Valley with Facebook posts, tweets, Google results and other fragments. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-03-27 13:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #debut novel #facebook posts #silicon valley #tech reporter #modern life