6 Short Stories for Fans of BLACK MIRROR

Keep the technology-inspired horror and thrill going with six short stories for fans of BLACK MIRROR--just don't read them on your ereader! Continue reading at 'Book Riot'

[ Book Riot | 2019-08-08 10:35:58 UTC ]
News tagged with: #black mirror #technology-inspired horror #black mirror-- #short stories

Other Publishing stories related to: '6 Short Stories for Fans of BLACK MIRROR'


17 Excellent Short Stories By Black Authors

These short stories by Black authors include some of the best Black short stories published, for middle graders, YA readers, and adults. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-10-16 10:37:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #ya readers #black authors


Cambridge University and First Story unveiled as BBC short story awards partners

First Story and the University of Cambridge are the new partners of the BBC’s short story awards, replacing BookTrust, in a three-year collaboration starting in 2018. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2017-09-29 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #cambridge university


Danielle Evans’s Sublime Short Stories of Race, Grief, and Belonging

“The Office of Historical Corrections,” an extraordinary new collection of fiction, examines alienation and the phantasmagoria of racial performance. Continue reading at New Yorker

[ New Yorker | 2020-11-21 16:01:38 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #historical corrections


Hilary Mantel’s next book will be a short story collection about her childhood.

This morning, Publishers Marketplace reported that two-time Booker Prize winner and historical fiction supremo Hilary Mantel has a new short story collection on the horizon. Learning to Talk, which will be released by Holt at some point next year, is billed as “a collection of loosely... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-11-18 18:07:12 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #historical fiction #short stories #literary hub #hilary mantel


Four short links: 6 Nov 2020

Dealing with Security Holes in Chips — system security starts at the hardware layer. Ubooquity — free home server for your comics and ebooks library. “Like plex for books.” Noisepage — a relational database management system developed by the Carnegie Mellon Database Group. The research goal of... Continue reading at O'Reilly Radar

[ O'Reilly Radar | 2020-11-06 11:59:34 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #ebooks #short links


Riot Recommendation: 53 of the Most Outstanding Short Stories You’ve Read

We asked for your favorite short stories and got a long list! Here are 53 of the most outstanding short stories our readers have read. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-11-02 11:31:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #long list #riot recommendation #ve read


Raven Leilani | 'I wanted to write a story about a young black woman who is unvarnished on the page'

"The first time we have sex, we are both fully clothed, at our desks during working hours, bathed in blue computer light.” So begins Luster, the extraordinary début novel from American author Raven Leilani, which has caused a sensation in the US and deserves to do the same here. The... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-11-01 23:03:04 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #american author #white man #working hours #raven leilani


WATCH: Tiny Nightmares: Very Short Stories of Horror

Welcome to the virtual book launch of Tiny Nightmares: Very Short Tales of Horror, brought to you by The Antibody Reading Series in collaboration with WORD Bookstore (buy from the bookstore here). Tonight’s guests include editors Lincoln Michel and Nadxieli Nieto, along with contributors Meg... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-10-29 23:30:17 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #bookstore #literary hub #post watch


Riot Recommendation: What Outstanding Short Stories Have You Read?

Speak to us, oh lovers of short fiction: what are the most outstanding short stories you've read? Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-10-27 10:31:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #short fiction #riot recommendation #ve read


Stanley and Zhang crowned Staunch's short story and flash fiction winners

Laura Stanley, a creative writing graduate and masters student at Nottingham University, has won the Staunch Short Story Prize with her unpublished story "Mrs Hawkins and The Orchard".  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-10-12 08:33:42 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Sarah Hall wins BBC National Short Story Award for second time

Sarah Hall has become the first author to win the BBC National Short Story Award twice in its 15-year history.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-10-06 01:38:09 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #sarah hall


Hall gets fourth shortlisting for BBC's £15k short story award

Sarah Hall has been shortlisted for the £15,000 BBC National Short Story Award for the fourth time, after winning the prize in 2013.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-09-11 10:46:38 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #fourth time


Mirror Books to publish story of Pug Café

Mirror Books will publish Happy Dog Days at the Pug Café by Anushka Fernando and Bertie the Pug, the first book from the Pug Café. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-09-07 03:22:09 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #publish story #mirror books


10 Short Stories About Women’s Transformations

The Little Mermaid sacrifices her tail for a human soul. The Navajo Changing Woman grows old and is reborn with the seasons. The nymph Daphne becomes a tree to escape lovesick Apollo. Women transform because we are hungry. We transform because we’re restless, and because we’re dangerous. Women... Continue reading at Electric Literature

[ Electric Literature | 2020-08-28 11:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #electric literature


43 of the Most Iconic Short Stories in the English Language

Last year, I put together this list of the most iconic poems in the English language; it’s high time to do the same for short stories. But before we go any further, you may be asking: What does “iconic” mean in this context? Can a short story really be iconic in the way of a […] Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-08-13 08:50:36 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #short story #high time #english language


Mirror Books lands story of Audrey Hepburn's secret resistance past

Mirror Books has landed the “extraordinary” true story of Audrey Hepburn and her time as a resistance fighter during World War II, written by Robert Matzen. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-07 00:33:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #mirror books #audrey hepburn


Five Japanese Authors Share Their Favorite Murakami Short Stories

This past weekend in Japan, Haruki Murakami released his new story collection Ichininshō Tansū (The First Person Singular). The collection comprises eight stories, seven of which were first published in the literary magazine Bungakukai between summer 2018 and winter 2020. Many of these... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-07-20 08:49:52 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #literary magazine #past weekend


Niamh Campbell wins £30,000 Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award

Niamh Campbell has been awarded the Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award for her "original and touching" piece "Love Many". Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-07-02 16:30:36 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #niamh campbell


Kritika Pandey wins 2020 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Indian author Kritika Pandey has been announced as the overall winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-06-29 13:25:57 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: