#long time

Publishing news tagged with #long time


How Much Does Your Job Shape Your Identity?

“You think you’ve known someone for a long time,” a character in one of Jenny Bhatt’s short stories says of her Indian colleague shortly after he’s shot dead by a white man in a bar. “Maybe he never really took to us. Never really became one of us.” Turn by turn, each of his white […] The post... Continue reading at 'Electric Literature'

[ Electric Literature | 2020-10-13 11:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #electric literature #shot dead #long time #white man


Susanna Clarke’s infinitely clever ‘Piranesi’ is enough to make you appreciate life in quarantine

Fans of “Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell” have waited a long time for Clarke’s second novel. Continue reading at 'The Washington Post'

[ The Washington Post | 2020-09-08 16:23:45 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time #susanna clarke


In Defense of Psychoanalysis and Writing Freudian Fiction

The year after I graduated from college, my parents got divorced. I took it rather badly. (Picture me crumpled on the floor of a Barnes & Noble, sobbing.) I’d been holding things together for a very long time, and then, with little warning, I couldn’t anymore. So I sought the assistance of a... Continue reading at 'Literrary Hub'

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-08-19 08:48:35 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #barnes #long time #barnes noble


Publishing the full Spectrum

For a long time, I felt like I had been failed by publishing. After a diagnosis of Aspergers Syndrome - now Autism Spectrum Disorder (or ASD) in 2015 - I set out to learn more about my new ‘label’, and what it meant to me. Recommendations included looking to TV, because characters such as... Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-08-04 22:34:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time #full spectrum


Bloomberg Launches Green-Themed Quarterly Magazine

On Tuesday, Bloomberg Media launched Bloomberg Green, a new quarterly print magazine focused on climate change solutions. The latest offshoot of the "Bloomberg Green" brand, which first debuted in January, the print edition complements an existing web vertical and daily newsletter of the same... Continue reading at 'Folio Magazine'

[ Folio Magazine | 2020-06-09 21:09:53 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #print edition #future issues #digital subscription #morgan stanley #long time


Less! Less! Less!: How the miniseries took over television

From Quiz to Chernobyl, the one-off television series is the perfect antidote to the relentlessness of multi-season shows. But do they ultimately leave us wanting more?Broadcast across three nights as lockdown kept us glued to our sofas, ITV’s Quiz was the first new drama in a long time that... Continue reading at 'The Guardian'

[ The Guardian | 2020-06-02 14:27:30 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #anthology #increasingly popular #long time #television series


Publishing for the future: how children’s books have changed in 20 years

Looking back and charting changes in a business as multi-faceted and all-encompassing as children’s books is a tricky business. Given that the peak titles from the past last a very long time while most titles fade away fairly fast and the least successful disappear surprisingly completely it is... Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-29 19:37:34 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time #tricky business


Seven days later

This time last week, when I asked someone at one of the bigger publishers whether they had called off their London Book Fair party yet, I could feel the baffled response down the telephone line—“as if”. A week is a long time during pandemics (we are learning), but for Reed Exhibitions, the... Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-03-06 04:53:02 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #london book fair #reed exhibitions #long time


Netflix 'n' spills: How the streaming wars could hurt advertisers, consumers and platforms

Nearly 13 years ago, Netflix launched the first subscription-based streaming service for “Hollywood content,” laying the foundation for a massive paradigm shift in the way we access and watch movies and TV. Hulu followed suit soon after, but Netflix again changed the game in 2013, releasing the... Continue reading at 'Advertising Age'

[ Advertising Age | 2019-10-24 19:52:28 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #nielsen #seismic shift #long time #subscriber base


Neil Carrol of Nickel City Graphics on growing along with his business

Business is good at Nickel City Graphics, the Buffalo-based digital content studio founded by Neil Carroll in 2008. Carroll ran a solo enterprise focusing on video content for a long time. But he recently started to consciously grow his business, with four employees now and plans to add more.... Continue reading at 'Silicon Valley Business Journal'

[ Silicon Valley Business Journal | 2019-07-13 11:55:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #digital content #long time #video content


The Daily Show just put out an entire book about Trump's tweets

Last night on "The Daily Show," Trevor Noah served up a plug for "The Donald J. Trump Presidential Twitter Library," a hardcover book from Noah and the show's writers that goes on sale today. It's been a long time in the making, given that just over a year ago The Donald J. Trump Presidential... Continue reading at 'Advertising Age'

[ Advertising Age | 2018-07-31 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #spiegel grau #ongoing investigation #nice boost #long time


The Long Con

It’s easy enough to believe that this is an especially awful moment for truth—in part because it is. But in a new book Bunk: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News, Kevin Young shows that the concepts listed in his title have been around in America for a very... Continue reading at 'Slate'

[ Slate | 2017-11-21 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #worst fears #17th century #long time #fake news


Mark Millar's superhero rise from comic book nerd to Netflix winner

How Scotsman made multi-million pound leap from page to screen with sale of Millarworld titles to US streaming giantLike many comic book writers and artists, Mark Millar’s love of comics began as a young child when his older brother would take him to comic book shops. But now the Scottish author... Continue reading at 'The Guardian'

[ The Guardian | 2017-08-09 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #sherlock holmes #long time #20-year history


Libraries for gathering, not just books

Libraries from Massachusetts to California are expanding to more unusual offerings like clothing exchanges and tai-chi sessions. 'For a long time, we’ve tried to make sure people come in for more than checking out books,' says Leah Price, communications director for the Library Foundation of Los... Continue reading at 'The Christian Science Monitor'

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2016-12-14 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #communications director #long time


Weekly E-Ranking: Merry's Four Waifs set chart record

Sales momentum could see The Girl on the Train reign for a long time yet on the Weekly E-Book Ranking. Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2016-10-28 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time #sales momentum #weekly e-ranking


From paying the bills, to £2,000 a day: making a killing from self-publishing

Her Last Tomorrow, Adam Croft’s latest DIY thriller, lifted his bedroom business into the sales stratosphere. He talks about paying off his mortgage in weeks and why he’s fine with publishers being ‘sniffy’“Could you murder your wife to save your daughter?” That’s the hook for a novel that has... Continue reading at 'The Guardian'

[ The Guardian | 2016-06-02 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time #book deal


BEA 2016: Thomas Mullen: When Black Cops Didn’t Matter

Thomas Mullen has been playing with genres for a long time. He has mixed historical fiction with magical realism, played with the spy novel, and is now mixing a police procedural with a fact-based piece of historical fiction. Continue reading at 'Publishers Weekly'

[ Publishers Weekly | 2016-05-12 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #historical fiction #magical realism #long time


BEA 2016: Brightness Falls in McCormick

It’s been a long time since Jay McInerney attended a BEA, “at least 10 years,” says the author, whose highly anticipated new novel, Bright, Precious Days (Knopf) will land in bookstores this August. Continue reading at 'Publishers Weekly'

[ Publishers Weekly | 2016-05-11 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #highly anticipated #long time


Bild and Amazon Cooperate on New German Bestseller List

For a long time, Der Spiegel published the only German bestseller list. Now, Bild and Amazon are cooperating to bring a new player to the game. The post Bild and Amazon Cooperate on New German Bestseller List appeared first on Publishing Perspectives. Continue reading at 'Publishing Perspectives'

[ Publishing Perspectives | 2015-12-16 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #long time


Magnifying the Power of the Brand

[Sponsored Content] For a long time, brands have been powerful symbols of ownership, identity and value. Magazine publishers are increasingly discovering how beneficial those symbols can be. The post Magnifying the Power of the Brand appeared first on Folio:. Continue reading at 'Folio Magazine'

[ Folio Magazine | 2015-10-06 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #magazine publishers #long time #sponsored content #brand appeared