International Publishing News

Updated 1 day ago [ At: 2020-04-07 17:21:16 UTC]


New Launches at Meredith and Penske; Trade Show M&A “Evaporates” | News & Notes

Call it a case of fortuitous timing: as the nation's unemployment rate approaches historic levels and Americans brace for the second major economic downturn in a decade, Meredith Corp. announced this week that it just so happens to have a new personal-finance-focused print and digital magazine... Continue reading at 'Folio Magazine'

[ Folio Magazine | 2020-04-07 17:21:16 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #print edition #b2b publications #trade shows


Mrs Hinch dust-busts into the top spot, with Nielsen data still incomplete

Mrs Hinch's The Little Book of Lists (Michael Joseph) has swept straight into the UK Official Top 50 number one spot, ending the four-week reign of Hilary Mantel's The Mirror and the Light (Fourth Estate) at the top. Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-07 17:08:28 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #nielsen #lightfourth estate #hilary mantel #mrs hinch #nielsen data #sthe mirror


Orwell Prize longlists for Political Writing and Political Fiction announced

Bernardine Evaristo, Amelia Gentleman and Kate Clanchy are among the longlisted authors for this year's Orwell Prize for Political Writing and Orwell Prize for Political Fiction. Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-07 16:58:58 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #political fiction #orwell prize #bernardine evaristo #political writing


A newly discovered portrait of Mary Pearson reminds us that the Austens were total jerks about her.

Long before Tinder, there was Jane Austen, warning your dates and their families that you looked nothing like your picture: in this instance, her subject was Mary Pearson, a portrait of whom has recently been discovered and acquired by Jane Austen’s House museum. Pearson, who likely inspired... Continue reading at 'Literrary Hub'

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-04-07 15:55:45 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #pearson #jane austen


As Magazines Seek New Footing During the COVID-19 Crisis, Newsstands Try to Hang On

For most publishers, the newsstand business has become ancillary. But prior to The Great Recession, America’s top 500 magazines delivered nearly 350 million copies to newsstands across the country. Times have changed, to say the least. That number now is a small fraction of what it once was,... Continue reading at 'Folio Magazine'

[ Folio Magazine | 2020-04-07 15:37:04 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #hearst #barnes #road ahead #entire ecosystem #supply chain #greater good


Need a new quarantine read? Don Winslow drops 'Broken,' stories for our fractured times

The bestselling crime novelist plans a virtual book tour for his new title, "Broken," as the coronavirus keeps him home in Southern California. Continue reading at 'Los Angeles Times'

[ Los Angeles Times | 2020-04-07 15:00:38 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book tour #southern california


Oprah has announced her April book club pick.

On today’s CBS This Morning, Oprah Winfrey announced her April book club selection: Robert Kolker’s Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family. Kolker book is a work of narrative nonfiction—with elements of biography, reportage, and scientific investigation—about the life of a... Continue reading at 'Literrary Hub'

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-04-07 14:36:54 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book club #robert kolker


Walker to publish sequel to Guess How Much I Love You

Walker and Candlewick are to publish Will You Be My Friend?, a sequel to the bestselling children's book Guess How Much I Love You. Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-07 14:27:02 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #bestselling children #publish sequel


11 new books to add to your quarantine TBR pile.

I don’t know who needs to hear this, but today is Tuesday. The only way I know that today is Tuesday is because all these new books are coming out today! So get excited, stay inside, order any of these titles from Bookshop if you’re so inclined, and maybe #BuyGiftCards to support your local... Continue reading at 'Literrary Hub'

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-04-07 14:00:24 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #bookshop #local bookstores


For fans of Indiana Jones and Dan Brown, an adventure story for the ages

Talbot Mundy’s “The Nine Unknown,” a 1920s occult thriller, is among several literary gems now in the public domain. Continue reading at 'The Washington Post'

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-07 14:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #public domain #literary gems #adventure story #dan brown


Andersen Press to publish YA novel about Ada Lovelace

Andersen Press has acquired I, Ada, a new YA novel based on the early life of Victorian computer programmer Ada Lovelace, written by Julia Gray. Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-07 13:54:37 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #ya novel #early life #andersen press


Poets dominate the shortlist for the £30,000 Dylan Thomas Prize.

Here is the shortlist for this year’s Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize. In its fifteenth year, the Dylan Thomas Prize is one of the UK’s most prestigious literary awards, as well as the largest literary prize for young writers (that means age 39 and under). Congratulations to the finalists!... Continue reading at 'Literrary Hub'

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-04-07 13:39:50 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #literary prize #young writers #fifteenth year


Stars and Stares (shelftalker)

Kind acts and thoughtful generosity shine through the darker moments of this crisis. Continue reading at 'Publishers Weekly'

[ Publishers Weekly | 2020-04-07 12:25:42 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


Speculation abounds as Boris Johnson enters the ICU

Eleven days ago, Boris Johnson, Britain’s prime minister, announced that he had tested positive for COVID-19, the disease caused by the new coronavirus. In an upbeat video message posted to social media, Johnson described his symptoms as “mild,” and said he would continue to lead Britain’s... Continue reading at 'Columbia Journalism Review'

[ Columbia Journalism Review | 2020-04-07 12:12:20 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #newspaper publisher #stop talking #harvey weinstein


You've got mail! The New York paper sending you artworks in the post

If lockdown has New Yorkers going postal, the independent journal Civilization has revived the tradition of mail art in order to make us all feel less isolatedIn New York in the early 1960s, the pop artist Ray Johnson pioneered mail art, posting drawings and notes to friends, which he invited... Continue reading at 'The Guardian'

[ The Guardian | 2020-04-07 12:08:05 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #print publication #ll find #online store #early 1960s #postal service


‘Walden’ may be the most famous act of social distancing. It’s also a lesson on the importance of community.

Henry David Thoreau’s most famous book is more than a guide to nature. It’s a memoir of grieving. Continue reading at 'The Washington Post'

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-07 12:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #memoir #social distancing


New Hitchman novel to Serpent's Tail

Profile imprint Serpent's Tail has acquired a "powerful" new historical novel by Beatrice Hitchman.  Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-07 11:55:13 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


The turbulent lives of six brothers with schizophrenia

Robert Kolker on a family’s struggle — and how it advanced the science of mental illness. Continue reading at 'The Washington Post'

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-07 11:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #mental illness #robert kolker


Amazon prioritises children's books and educational titles experiencing 'strong demand'

Amazon, which has lately has been prioritising household essentials and medical supplies, has said it is now also prioritising products where there is "strong customer demand" – including children's books and educational titles. Continue reading at 'The Bookseller'

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-07 10:59:19 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #educational titles #medical supplies


10 Manga Like DEATH NOTE To Completely Get Yourself Into

The legacy of Death Note is HUGE. People try to write stories like it because it is that iconic. These manga like Death Note have a similar feel. Continue reading at 'Book Riot'

[ Book Riot | 2020-04-07 10:39:20 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #manga