Susan Kamil, a Top Book Editor and Publisher, Dies at 69

Salman Rushdie, Ta-Nehisi Coates, Lena Dunham, Elizabeth Strout, Gary Shteyngart and Prince were among the authors she nurtured. Continue reading at 'The New York Times'

[ The New York Times | 2019-09-10 22:55:59 UTC ]
News tagged with: #susan kamil #salman rushdie #ta-nehisi coates #lena dunham #elizabeth strout #gary shteyngart #book editor

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Susan Kamil, a Top Book Editor and Publisher, Dies at 69'


Top Five Mags First Half: Sneakers, Yachts and Hiking Boots

Some new magazine faces have shown up in min's top 5 ad-page charts (see below) for June and for the first half (January-June 2011 vs. 2010). They are sun-bleached, health-minded, sports and outdoor enthusiast in Competitor Group's Competitor, Source Interlink's Power & Motoryacht, Mariah... Continue reading at Folio Magazine

[ Folio Magazine | 2011-05-24 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #source interlink #magazine faces #hiking boots #competitor group


Aurum reaches final frontier with Star Trek book

Written By: Katie Allen Publication Date: Tue, 24/05/2011 - 15:17 Aurum Press has bought a book delving into archive material from science fiction television show Star Trek. Commissioning editor Sam Harrison acquired UK and Commonweath rights to Star Trek Vault: 40 years from the Archives from... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-24 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


HC to publish final Michael Crichton title this November

Written By: Graeme Neill Publication Date: Tue, 24/05/2011 - 09:00 HarperCollins will publish this November the novel Michael Crichton was working on when he died in 2008. Described as a "high-concept thriller in the vein of Jurassic Park", Micro is co-written by Richard Preston. It follows a... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-24 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #richard preston #jurassic park #high-concept thriller


Second week at the top for Madeleine memoir

Written By: Philip Stone Publication Date: Tue, 24/05/2011 - 15:55 Kate McCann's Madeleine (Bantam Press) was comfortably the bestselling book at UK booksellers for the second week running, selling 63,909 copies in its first full week on sale. It brings total sales of the hardback edition of... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-24 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #tony blair #david beckham #delia smith #records began #non-fiction titles #hardback edition #uk booksellers #full week #week running #bestselling book


S&S defends Will & Kate "gypsy" wedding book

Written By: Lisa Campbell Publication Date: Mon, 23/05/2011 - 15:41 Simon & Schuster has defended its publication of Will & Kate’s Big Fat Gypsy Wedding as “fun” and “gently humorous” after Tesco withdrew the book from sale, following complaints. The supermarket pulled the title after... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-23 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Publishers "celebrating" after Waterstone's takeover

Written By: Bookseller Staff Publication Date: Mon, 23/05/2011 - 09:40 The takeover of Waterstone's by Alexander Mamut is cause for celebration among the publishing industry, Faber c.e.o. Stephen Page has said. read more Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-23 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #stephen page #publishing industry #alexander mamut


Google Touts Growth of E-book Service and Store

Google's eBooks electronic bookstore now contains about 3 million free titles, up from 2 million when it was launched in December. Continue reading at PC World

[ PC World | 2011-05-23 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #e-book service


Bringing E-books to Stores

Booksellers attending the Canadian Booksellers Association's National Conference in Toronto, May 13–15, were introduced to innovations from two Canadian companies designed to help bricks-and-mortar stores sell ebooks. Transcontinental Printing demonstrated its ebook distribution system, which... Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2011-05-23 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #web sites #sell ebooks #national conference #booksellers attending


Publishers begin "buddying" schemes

Written By: Benedicte Page Publication Date: Fri, 20/05/2011 - 08:34 Random House and Bloomsbury have begun "buddying" programmes to support their local libraries and library authorities. More than 20 Random House staff have volunteered to be part of a pilot scheme pioneered by deputy group... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-20 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #discuss ways #library authorities #local libraries


E-Book Sales Pass Print on Amazon

While the Rapture isn’t scheduled to occur until Saturday, according to members of certain religious fringe groups, it looks like doomsday has come early for publishers of print books. Amazon announced Thursday that sales of ebooks on the site have finally surpassed combined sales of hardcovers... Continue reading at AdWeek

[ AdWeek | 2011-05-20 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #forrester analyst #big deal #e-book reading #forrester research #mortar stores #mike shatzkin


QOTD: About Those Amazon E-Book Sales…

“As a former Amazon Associate, I can tell you that a great many sales of Kindle Books are for the 99¢ complete Dickens, etc.” –Movie critic and Web publisher Roger Ebert, providing some context for Amazon’s stat about Kindle ebooks outselling print books. Continue reading at AllThingsD

[ AllThingsD | 2011-05-20 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #kindle books


French poll says publishers less reliable than a decade ago

Written By: Barbara Casassus Publication Date: Thu, 19/05/2011 - 09:58 Fewer French booksellers think publishers are "serious and reliable" than they did 10 years ago, a survey has revealed. Among 430 representative outlets surveyed in a poll taken for French trade weekly Livres Hebdo between... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-19 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #current affairs #department stores #decade ago


Sphere acquires Seal Team Six book

Written By: Charlotte Williams Publication Date: Thu, 19/05/2011 - 09:02 Sphere is capitalising on the interest surrounding the US Navy Seals following the assassination of Osama bin Laden and has acquired Seal Team Six by Howard E Wasdin and Stephen Templin. Sphere non-fiction publishing... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-19 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #23rd june #scott miller #trident media #claire roberts #navy seals


Independent Booksellers Book Prize shortlists unveiled

Written By: Lisa Campbell Publication Date: Thu, 19/05/2011 - 12:19 Readers are being called to cast their vote for the Independent Booksellers’ Book Prize winner, after the shortlist was announced today. The annual award, which recognises works of fiction for adults and children, asks members... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-19 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #annual award #announced today


Myers wants joined-up thinking over book events

Written By: Lisa Campbell Publication Date: Wed, 18/05/2011 - 09:33 Dominic Myers has called on the book industry to collaborate in creating more nation-wide events like World Book Night in order to enhance the dialogue around books. The Waterstone's m.d told the Book Industry Conference forum... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-18 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book sales #book events #book industry


Number of US physical books printed increases despite digital

Written By: Philip Jones Publication Date: Wed, 18/05/2011 - 15:57 Traditional US print book output in 2010 increased 5% in 2010, despite the huge growth in ebooks, though there was a continuing fall in the number of fiction titles published. read more Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-18 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #huge growth


Amazon.com launches second publishing imprint

Written By: Graeme Neill Publication Date: Wed, 18/05/2011 - 14:47 Amazon.com has announced the launch of its second publishing imprint this month, with Thomas & Mercer to focus on mysteries and thrillers. The imprint is named after the streets that flank Amazon's Seattle headquarters and... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-18 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #independent booksellers #audio formats #thomas mercer #publishing imprint


E-book price-fixing law passed in France

Written By: Barbara Casassus Publication Date: Wed, 18/05/2011 - 14:45 The French National Assembly yesterday (17th May) voted into law a bill allowing publishers to fix prices of all ebooks sold in France. The text says that retailers inside or outside France must respect the fixed prices.... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-18 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #european court #european commission #fixed prices #retailers inside #ebooks sold #fix prices


Corvus acquires seven from self-published author

Written By: Charlotte Williams Publication Date: Tue, 17/05/2011 - 08:15 Corvus has acquired seven books from self-published author Nick Alexander, whose title The Missing Boyfriend was in the top 10 in the Kindle paid-for charts for six weeks. Senior editor Laura Palmer bought world English... Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2011-05-17 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #backlist titles #self-published author


Upcoming Yale Publishing Course Features Speakers from Hearst, Dwell, Glamour

For the second year, Yale University will offer a publishing course aimed at long-time magazine industry professionals, slated to begin on with a keynote address from Richard Stolley, senior editorial adviser at Time Inc., on Sunday, July 10. The course will run through Friday, July 15. Continue reading at Folio Magazine

[ Folio Magazine | 2011-05-17 00:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #keynote address #yale university