Liz Moore’s Philadelphia Story

Liz Moore’s fourth novel, 'Long Bright River,' is a police procedural set in Philadelphia’s Kensington neighborhood. Continue reading at 'Publishers Weekly'

[ Publishers Weekly | 2019-10-18 04:00:00 UTC ]
News tagged with: #philadelphia story #liz moore #kensington neighborhood

Other Publishing stories related to: 'Liz Moore’s Philadelphia Story'


South Carolina Bookstore Shares Story of Reopening

Fiction Addiction in Greenville, S.C., has re-opened after the state government gave permission; shoppers are limited to four at a time. "My concern was less for my own health than the health of the store," said owner Jill Hendrix. Continue reading at Publishers Weekly

[ Publishers Weekly | 2020-04-22 04:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #bookstore #fiction addiction


2020 Commonwealth Short Story Prize shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year's Commonwealth Short Story Prize has been announced, and features 20 entries from countries across the Commonwealth. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-21 15:26:21 UTC ]
More news stories like this |


Five Recent Story Collections For Your Pandemic Reading

In many months this list contains five novels—but never before has it consisted of five story collections. Given the global pandemic, its effects on economies, and everyone’s anxieties, some of us are getting lost in long, complicated sagas—witness Yiyun Li’s #TolstoyTogether online book group.... Continue reading at Literrary Hub

[ Literrary Hub | 2020-04-21 08:47:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #online book #global pandemic #story collections


Madeleine L’Engle’s early short stories presage ‘A Wrinkle in Time’

A reviewer reflects on reading “The Moment of Tenderness,” a collection of short stories, and then returning to the 1963 novel she loved growing up. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2020-04-17 23:14:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #loved growing #reviewer reflects


Madeleine L’Engle’s early short stories presage ‘A Wrinkle in Time’

A reviewer reflects on reading “The Moment of Tenderness,” a collection of short stories, and then returning to the 1963 novel she loved growing up. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2020-04-17 23:14:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #loved growing #reviewer reflects


Madeleine L’Engle’s early short stories presage ‘A Wrinkle in Time’

A reviewer reflects on reading “The Moment of Tenderness,” a collection of short stories, and then returning to the 1963 novel she loved growing up. Continue reading at The Christian Science Monitor

[ The Christian Science Monitor | 2020-04-17 23:14:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #loved growing #reviewer reflects


Michelle Obama will read your kids a story by video on Mondays

Former First Lady Michelle Obama will be reading children's books in a weekly series of videos for Penguin Random House and PBS Kids through May 11. Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2020-04-17 20:08:16 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #penguin random house #weekly series #michelle obama


Iranian Americans’ stories of rejection and belonging

Immigrants and their descendants on coming to terms with both sides of their identities. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-16 13:49:30 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


In ‘Subduction,’ an anthropologist observing a remote fishing village becomes part of the story

Kristen Millares Young’s whip-smart debut is all about stories — especially the ones people tell about themselves and to themselves, to make life meaningful and livable. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-15 14:41:22 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with:


Closed libraries are offering parking lot Wi-Fi, e-books, and Zoom story time

Even when shuttered by the coronavirus pandemic, libraries are coming up with creative ways to serve their communities. On March 16, the El Dorado County Library in California closed its doors to patrons after a state-wide stay-at-home order. But that hasn’t stopped the library, which serves... Continue reading at Fast Company

[ Fast Company | 2020-04-15 07:00:32 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #libraries #creative ways #coronavirus pandemic #closed libraries


More Bedtime Stories from Tom Hardy for CBeebies

Tom Hardy is returning to CBeebies with six new Bedtime Stories in what is being dubbed "Tom Week".  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-14 06:16:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #tom hardy #bedtime stories


Virtual events now a mainstay, says Midas director Georgina Moore

Georgina Moore, director of books and publishing at Midas, has said she will continue to use virtual events for book publicity after the present lockdown ends, arguing that they have maintained the profile of books and authors during this period, but are also good for reaching new audiences . Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-04-08 09:28:39 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #virtual events


Need a new quarantine read? Don Winslow drops 'Broken,' stories for our fractured times

The bestselling crime novelist plans a virtual book tour for his new title, "Broken," as the coronavirus keeps him home in Southern California. Continue reading at Los Angeles Times

[ Los Angeles Times | 2020-04-07 15:00:38 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #book tour #southern california


For fans of Indiana Jones and Dan Brown, an adventure story for the ages

Talbot Mundy’s “The Nine Unknown,” a 1920s occult thriller, is among several literary gems now in the public domain. Continue reading at The Washington Post

[ The Washington Post | 2020-04-07 14:00:00 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #public domain #literary gems #adventure story #dan brown


16 Funny Short Stories and Books to Brighten Your Mood

In the midst of researching news reports and washing your hands, here is a list of 15 funny short stories and books to brighten your mood. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-03-27 10:34:44 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories


W&N wins Sweeney's 'beguiling' short story collection at auction

W&N is publishing Irish author Cathy Sweeney's debut collection of short stories, described as a "look at the world from a lopsided perspective", following a "heated" auction. Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-03-27 07:58:19 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #debut collection


Andersen Press partners with Seven Stories for virtual storytimes

Andersen Press has partnered with Seven Stories to provide weekly virtual story times free of charge throughout the coronavirus pandemic.  Continue reading at The Bookseller

[ The Bookseller | 2020-03-27 00:51:01 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #coronavirus pandemic


With Kids Stuck at Home, Authors Bring Stories to Instagram

As schools close, parents are turning to children’s book writers and illustrators on social media to help with teaching kids stuck inside. Continue reading at Wired

[ Wired | 2020-03-23 13:30:37 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #children’s book #book writers #schools close #kids stuck


Audible Launches Audible Stories for Children and Teens While School is Out

Looking for ways to entertain kids and teens at home? Audible has launched Audible Stories, a free service that offers family-friendly educational and entertaining audiobook content. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-03-19 19:24:21 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #audiobook #free service


How Do I Incorporate Short Stories Back Into My Reading Life?

A reader who fell out of love with short story collections ponders how best to make reading short stories part of the routine again. Continue reading at Book Riot

[ Book Riot | 2020-03-18 10:39:38 UTC ]
More news stories like this | News stories tagged with: #short stories #reading life